Colosseum & Vatican


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 23rd 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rome

Sooo after my awesome trip to the Amalfi Coast I had two more weeks left in Rome. I did a tour of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. These were very cool and I liked hearing the stories that the tour guides had to tell. In my opinion they werent the most impressive monuments slash ruins though! The inside of the Colosseum was also not what I expected. It was weird because you didnt see the stage slash floor that all the spectators saw... what you see is what existed underneath it, which was all these stalls slash cubbies where they kept the animals. It was funny though because I actually ran into one of the boys that lived on my floor freshman year, Chris. He was there traveling with friends. It was funny to run into him though and we went out later that night for his birthday which was very fun!

That week I also went to the Vatican. We went to the vatican museum and saw the sistine chapel as well as all the cool artworks in that museum. My favorite parts I must say were the ceilings!! They were the most gorgeous with lots of gold on them. The Sistine Chapel was also breathtaking. It is just so big and detailed!!! Then we went to St. Peters square to see the pope and get blessed by him! They had a security screening to enter the square, and there were hoards of people there. The pope drove around in his popemobile, which is supposedly bullet proof but kind of pointless because he is standing up in it waving to the crowds. I got pretty close to him though and got some good pictures!! They also had all these video screens set up to see him. He then gave us blessings of peace and happiness! Then we went to go eat at this sketchy restaurant and there was mold on my vegetables! ewwwwww

It was funny though I also ran into my friend Chris again at the vatican!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb