Last day in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's my last full day in Rome. This morning we shopped at the Campo de Fiori farmer's market, then onto St Peter's Bacillica. Wow. Though I think I like Michelangelo's Pieta more than all the splendor. I was truly moved my that statue. Then I walked up to the dome, which is 471 steps! It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, though it was a bit clautrophobic. The views were amazing. My mom only went up as far as the lift would go. She wasn't up for the climb. I was totally deserving of a gelato ofter that!

Took one last look around Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Indulged in some very nice earrings. So very pretty. The rest of the time we just walked around looking at all the different shops.

Rome is definately a walking city. We did do the Roma pass, which gave us acess to the public transportation. I was a bit more daring when it came to the buses. I would just take something that took us in the general direction that we needed, because I figured all we had to do is walk a few blocks anyway.

Tomorrow we're off to Naples, which becomes a jumping point for Pompeii and Capri.

There's a bit of sadness mixed with the last day here. Rome (and presumably the rest of Italy) is a city filled with couples, and although my mom has been an excellent travel companion, I would like to go back here with someone special and see a different side, the romantic side of Italy. And so, I walked to Trevi fountain and made another wish...

ADJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb