First (understandable) tourist blunder


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 18th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I went to dinner at this place on Campo de Fiori. The food, service and everything was great. But I did something a little silly, though my consolation was that I wasn't the only one who did it. During my main course, I decided to add a side salad to my meal. The salad arrived with Olive Oil, Vinegar, and what looked like a big shaker of finely ground parmesean cheese. Now, I love parmesean cheese. I eat chunks of it. So, I put on a lot of it. FIrst taste. OMG SALT! My mom called the waiter and asked if they could wash it off, he just gave me a new one. He was very nice about it. It turns out that the girl next to me with the Italian boyfriend did the same thing. Another dinner thought I was putting sugar on my salad, so I don't feel so bad about it. I mean, who puts salt in a HUGE shaker with like 20 holes? And, I only got it with my salad, not before with our meal. I have also not seen salt served in anything like that anywhere else. Maybe it's something this place does to screw with the tourists. Maybe this is the raven to my kitty cat hunting urges for a good Italian meal.

Sunday: Went to the Capitoline Museums, and then to the St. Peitro in Vincoli to see Micelangelo's Moses and the chains of St Peter. The chains were nicely lit chains, but Moses was sublime. Very beautiful. Going now for dinner, hopefully with less salt.

ADJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb