last day in rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today was my last day in Rome, which was kind of sad. Granted, I'll have tomorrow morning for one last cafe hangout, gelato, and stroll around the streets. Then off to Ancona, which I've heard is really boring. I'm thinking I'll spend one day there (two nights) and in the morning of the next day catch a ferry to Keffalonia or something. Something on the west coast of Greece.

Today I had a really great day in Rome. I started out with a cappuccio and a pastry. It was completely clear today for a change, and must have been about thirty degrees. You didn't notice when you were walking, but if you stood still it became too hot to move. So first I went to Villa Borghese and explored the park for a bit. Chilled out. It is so green there you wouldn't believe it. Then I went and had another cappuccino and pastry in a streetside cafe. It was nice.

Then I decided to make the trip to Trastavere. Trastavere is this area full of narrow, winding streets and very old buildings. Lots of restaurants and cafes. I happened to glance down a street as I was passing by, and saw nothing but green. What's this? A BOTANICAL GARDEN? Sweet!

I wandered around exploring these palm tree-lined paths, ponds (one of which was full of little chicks and a mama duck. see the end for more) and other greenery, then found a bench and sat on it for like an hour and a half. It was too hot to do anything else, once I was stationary. The air just congealed around me and that was it. It was awesome. If I was in Calgary I'd probably have to wait till July for sun like that.

Eventually it cooled down a bit and I walked over to see this old sqare and church (Santa Maria something or other) in Trastavere. Eventually you get all churched out. Like today I saw a church that would have made my jaw hit the floor on my first day, but after seeing all the marble and gilt and sculptures, and ST PETER'S BASILICA, I think the only way to up the ante now is to see the Holy Cave of the Apocalypse, on Patmos. That's where John the Apostle wrote THE BOOK OF REVELATIONS. That's gonna be intense.

Tomorrow I'll be in Ancona. I hope it's nice there.

pond with ducks: the chicks were too small to jump out! so the mama duck was walking around the outside quacking and the chicks were cheeping trying to jump out but never making it. It was really cute. I took pictures.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb