"Fair Italy! Thou art the garden of the world..."


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Piazza del PopoloPiazza del PopoloPiazza del Popolo

This is looking down the three main streets that branch off the piazza. The one in the middle is Via del Corso and it's known for it's shopping. The Trevi Fountain is on del Corso. The Spanish Steps are to the left, and you can get to the Colosseum from the road to the right.
Midterms are coming up this week. I'm not too concerned, most of mine consist of "in class essays" and short papers. The work load here is much lighter than it would be at this time at home. I'm thankful that the professors and the program recognizes our need for travel and exploration!

Speaking of such, I decided to wander around this weekend and see what I could find. My original intention was to head to the Forum to get pictures. Starting in March, the Forum will no longer be free... bummer! Come on Italy, pay for the upkeep of your ruins some other way! So, hopefully I get a chance to head back before leaving for ATHENS on FRIDAY (I'm a little excited, if you couldn't tell...)! Anyway, I wandered around and zig-zagged through streets instead of just booking it to the Forum. I'm so thankful I did, because I accidentally ran into the Villa Borghese and the gardens there. The Borghese gardens are like NYC's Central Park, or Fairmount Park in Philadelphia. It is HUGE and so beautiful. My favorite part is how quiet it is compared to the rest of Rome. I wandered through the park for about
Piazza del PopoloPiazza del PopoloPiazza del Popolo

The obelisk in the middle of the piazza is one of the tallest in Roma, and I believe it is the oldest (don't quote me). It was brought to Rome by Augustus after he defeated Antony and Cleopatra in Egypt.
an hour and a half, and still only saw about a third of it. Yesterday, I went back with Alicia, Jess and Kylie to do some "studying". We ended up taking more pictures and exploring than sitting and studying, but I did get an article read.

I'm just going to load this entry with pictures. The girls upstairs and I tried to find a jazz club to hang out at on Thursday, but ended up at an outdoor cafe. I'll add those pictures in here too. Oh! As well as the ones from Piazza del Popolo - I finally took some the last time I hung out to read.

Expect the next update to be post-Athens, pre-Amsterdam and expect lots of pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Piazza del PopoloPiazza del Popolo
Piazza del Popolo

When it's sunny, this is a prime lunching spot. It is the Fontana della Dea Roma, and the person standing is the goddess Dea Roma - the deity that personifies Rome. In front of her is the she-wolf that nursed Romulus and Remus, the founders of Rome.
Campo di FioreCampo di Fiore
Campo di Fiore

Kylie and her heart cracker on Valentine's Day (or San Valentino!). We couldn't find the Jazz Caffe, so we had a drink at this outdoor cafe.
Campo di FioreCampo di Fiore
Campo di Fiore

Jess, Alicia and Kylie
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

Somebody better go on a rowboat adventure with me in this tiny lake before I leave...
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

Signs of spring!
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

The "lake" was beyond this archway.
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

This was perhaps the strangest statue I've ever seen. I'm still not exactly sure what it is, or why it looks like six separate statues muddled together...
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

Yeah... not sure...
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

Jess, Kylie and Alicia at one of the entrances to the garden. Behind them is the Modern Art museum.
Borghese GardensBorghese Gardens
Borghese Gardens

Ciao for now, Villa Borghese!


24th February 2008

Great Pictures
Gram and I really loved your pictures, send some more and we will continue to watch for them. No more accidents, that is a good girl. Have fun keep the faith and God Bless. Gram and Grandpa Mader
5th March 2008

Wow!
Italy is gorgeous!! I am so jealous! I will have to make a trip there at some point in my life. I am glad you are having fun!!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb