It's Official, Rome Sucks!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Until we found the best restaurant ever, and they only charged us for one meal!
PLUS, they put on special music for us AND gave us free cookies.
They liked us.

We also got asked out by 2 guys to go for some beers at McDonalds....classy.
We declined. Shocking, I know.
We opted for chocolate cake and amazing yogurt at the campsite.


So, the original plan was to visit Pompeii today. Those plans were foiled by the terrible transportation system of Rome. You would think that in a city the size of Rome, the bus would come more than once an hour. Apparently not. We left this morning at 8:15am to make it to the train station by 9:25 for our train. Apparently, you need 2 hours to complete the 30 minute route from the campground to the train station. Who knew?

We did discover some excellent shopping at the train station, although we are both flat broke so it wasn't THAT fun. We spent a few hours wasting time there, bought some books, and headed back to the campground to sit by the pool. Yep, thats right. We spent a whole day in Rome and
I Love Life. I Drive SafelyI Love Life. I Drive SafelyI Love Life. I Drive Safely

This was a sign in Santorini. They do NOT drive safe! But the sign was pretty amusing.
didnt really see anything except our campsite and the train station, and we are more than ok with that.

We also called our Dads today to wish them a happy Father's Day. (Although I, Jen, forgot to call my dad on his birthday. Sorry! At least I remembered one of them....)

So, TOMORROW, Pompeii.
Then home.

Crazy how fast the time has gone...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Traveling...Traveling...
Traveling...

makes or breaks friendships. We are still friends!! :)
Ferry RideFerry Ride
Ferry Ride

from a few days ago.


19th June 2007

home
Laura!!! I just read your entire blog in one day and I'm exausted!! :) I can't imagine how exausted you are after doing all those ggreat things! It all sounds so exciing i can't wait to see all your pictures and hear more details about all your adventures. I'm so jealous that i will never be able to have such a carefree adventure through europe. We can't wait to see you and show off Daniel Robert Jr. to you! Oh and my figure too!! :) We'll see you at the airport tomorrow!! Lots of love, travel safe, you too Jen!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb