Ostia and the Catacombs


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Ostia Antica
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ostia is the sight of the ruins of a town from the times of Ancient Rome. I think it was destroyed by the Roman empire as it expanded. It was amazingly beautiful and peaceful there. Ostia (not the ruins, but the town) is actually on the beach, but a couple of Italians told me not to go to that one because the water there is too polluted. I'll take their word for it.

Ostia as a historical site, however, pretty much rocks. One of the professors here led the study trip and I've come to the conclusion he knows pretty much everything about Italy. I was really disappointed that I couldn't take his art history class, which goes on-site all over the city. Anyway, he led the trip to Ostia, and I learned quite a bit about the town from him, although he has a really soothing voice and hearing his voice in our earphones was making my mind wander a bit. Oops. He did show us what used to be an entertainment/wet bar though, which was really interesting since the marble and simple design was just as beautiful as any bar in someone's house today.

The catacombs were also pretty cool, but our guide through them was crazy. Seriously. It was kind of cool to go down there and realize that's the way people (especially outcast Catholics) were buried and visited. We weren't allowed to take pictures though, so that's why there are none.

This entry was kind of boring, but a dead town and empty tombs aren't necessarily the most exciting blog topic. Sorry. But I hope you all can still appreciate my photograpgy/photoediting efforts!

Ciao.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

IMGP1829IMGP1829
IMGP1829

These mosiacs were AMAZING!!!


15th May 2008

NEXT TIME
I THOUGHT ABOUT GOING HERE ON MY LAST TRIP TO ITALY, BUT IT JUST DIDN'T FIT IN. THANKS FOR THE PICTURES I REALLY ENJOYED THEM.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb