Having too much fun to write regularly


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Ostia Antica
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been slack and people are starting to email me asking me what's happening. So truth be told I've been having a fantastic time and haven't made the time to update the travelblog.

This blog is about a week old, so I'm not actually in Rome anymore, I'm in Montreal Canada. I'll add photo's over the next few days, but for today, no photo's sorry.

I had an absolutely wonderful final day in London. The sun finally came out and I spent the day with two of the most wonderful men I have the pleasure of calling my friends - Mark and Gordo.

I then went to Barcelona and I'm now in Rome. I think it's all a matter of pictures will tell the best story in this case, because there really has been so much to see and so much to do. Barcelona was amazing. I was constantly looking up at the buildings. The entire city is like a piece of art - it's absolutely beautiful. The atmosphere was amazing and full of quirky people.

I then headed to Rome and met up with Dad. In the first couple of hours of sightseeing, dad was conned by an amazingly brilliant con man. Here we were being incredibly careful of pick pockets etc but dad literally handed a whole heap of cash to someone who said he was the general manager of Calvin Klein and he was having problems with his credit card and needed some cash. Because we were so lovely he was giving us a jacket each, with the business card in the bag and he'd pay Dad back. Anyway, I got a (cheap) jacket out of the deal and a very big laugh and dad has learnt his lesson. We then headed around seeing the ruins from the Roman Empire, the Collaseum and the Vatican City. It's been good to meet up with Dad again.

It occurred to me the other day how amazing my trip is in regards to seeing so much history. I knew there was a lot of history before, but actually experiencing it is another thing. I'm really enjoying the contrast between each culture I see, but also the similarities. I'm getting glimpses of the rise and fall of great civilisations throughout time and how much has been totally lost. I'm also reading a book which gives a lot of insight as to the evolution of English and the history of languages. Very fascinating to read on my trip around the world.

Missing you all lots. Hope you're all happy and well.
E

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb