Rome wasnt built in a day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna
July 23rd 2008
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was lovely to be in Rome and we were eager to get out and do some sight seeing. We decided to go on a city walking tour, it was great the tour guide was funny and knew so much about the history he put it in a way I could understand. We both learnt a lot and we were so glad to not have to get the map out at every corner. We saw the Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum, it was kind of hard to imagine what it would have been like back in the Roman days over 2500 years ago. The Colosseum was amazing, I knew that brutal things happened there but didn't realise how bad it was. It was crazy to learn that the gladiators fought with African wild animals such as lions, giraffes almost putting the species of lions into extinction in Africa. I closed my eyes and imagined what it would have been like with 80,000 spectators cheering watching the deadly gladitorial combat. (Back in the day Romans lived to see blood). It was definately worth going on the tour, in the heat of the Roman sun we saw so many things.

The next day we went a saw the Vatican City the smallest country in the world. My friend Mandy and I decided to get photos of ourselves jumping into the air. Unfortunatly I jumped so high that I ended up flashing every one in the Vatican city (It would have been a great sight for the old man behind us).


Seeing the Vatican museum and the Sistene Chapel was amazing I finaly saw for real life what I had only seen in books at school. My mouth dropped and I lost my breath as I opened the doors to the Stanza della Segnature with Raphaels works of art, I walked the entire corridor with my head looking at the roof.

The next stop for us was the Spanish steps and the Trivi Fountian we both threw a coin in and made a wish and Dale nearly slipped on the wet slippery marble steps. They were both nice places to see but by the end of the day we were both eager to get back to our air condidtioned room.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

UsUs
Us

Spainish steps
Dale Dale
Dale

At the Trivi Fountion
Mandy and myselfMandy and myself
Mandy and myself

This is when I flashed the Vatican City


Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb