Province of Parma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Parma
April 16th 2007
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Torrechiara CastleTorrechiara CastleTorrechiara Castle

The beautiful Torrechiara Castle, built over 500 years ago in the Parma Valley.
I had the time for a quick trip, so I flew into Milan and grabbed a cab for the Estacione Centrale to catch a train to Parma. Arriving in Parma after about 2 hours, I grab another quick cab ride to Moto Guareschi. Home base for my Moto Guzzi where they lovingly fondle it and whisper sweet nuthins into its ears to get it to purr contentedly.

After paying my bill and renewing my insurance, I’m ready to hit the road. I didn’t really have a route planned other than to try to loop south through Tuscany. I hadn’t made it 5 kilometers before I realized I forgot to put my ear plugs in. While stopped, a guy comes running up to me gushing about the Guzzi and wanting to take a picture with his cell phone. The fame of Guzzi ownership is something you never get used to. If only it had this effect on young women!

I make my way westward via the backroads of Parma, passing beautiful castles and hillside villages along the way. I continue climbing up over the Apuan Alps and into Tuscany. I’m surprised to see there’s still quite a bit of snow
Estacione CentraleEstacione CentraleEstacione Centrale

Milan's cavernous train station.
on the ground. Unfortunately, the day is overcast so I didn’t think to take any pictures. The sky turns menacingly dark in spots and for a few moments I worry that I’m about to get drenched but alas, my fears are unfounded and I’m spared.

While studying the map, I notice the Cinque Terre region on the Ligurian coast. Hmmmm. In an instant, a change in plans. Tuscany would have to wait a day. I’m this close to the Ligurian coast, why not? This is one of the reasons I don’t book hotels in advance…I never know where I’ll end up! I grabbed a hotel room in the seaside resort of Portvenere and enjoyed a nice seafood meal.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

TorrechiaraTorrechiara
Torrechiara

Another view of the Torrechiara Castle.
Castle RuinsCastle Ruins
Castle Ruins

Another castle in the Parma valley.
Medeivel VillageMedeivel Village
Medeivel Village

A medeivel farming village in the foothills of the Apuan Alps.


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb