Bolo to Napoli


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
July 24th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I apologize to the mams for not updating this earlier but it has been difficult to internet for more than 15 minutes so I cant really put anything up. And I will also apologize for not using apostrophes but this is a European keyboard and I never remember where it is.

Now that I am such a savvy traveler, I will offer up a little bit of advice to those less experienced than my two and a half week veteran.
1) Book hostels earlier than the day before if you are going alone, as the popular ones fill up and you are stuck in places that dont speak english. It is pretty awesome when you dont speak for a few days, but hearing a known language does brighten up ones day upon hearing it.
2) Bring an iPod, especially one with Wifi and the ability to watch movies. 4 hour trains would seem a little less long.
3) Bring a few books. As no one spoke English in most of the places, I decided to read. Books by Debbie MacComber and Alan Titchmarsh just arent that good unless you are an old woman or like books that suck.
4) There are no pubs in Italy, and they like warm beer. Terrible, but at least you can drink on the street. Sort of makes up for it but id take a cold brew anytime.
5) Going alone, while allowing you to see cities in at most half the time, is not as fun as I thought it would be. Apparently I like people, it is weird I know, but true nonetheless.

So after Venice I went down to Bologna for a couple of days to a hostel that had a pool. After putting up with the 45 degree weather in Venice, I decided that the only way I will be able to survive is so find water, and luckily they were much obliged to provide. There really isnt much to do in Bologna, so I only spent one day there, saw all the Churchs and crap like that, and walked up a hundred metre leaning tower. Since I saw this one, I decided that I could skip Pisa which saved me one night in a town which only has that to offer.

I then decided to head to the Adriatic Sea to spend a few days on the beach and get my tan on. I was feeling very white after seeing all the Italians being a nice shade of black, so I thought it best to tan if I was unable to learn the language. It has served me well thus far. Rimini was dubbed as the Ibiza of Italy so I thought this would be the place where I would finally find the parties I have heard so much about. This, however, was not the case. If you travel by bus to the next town you will find said debauchery but as no one in my hostel spoke english, I decided to just relax on the beach and bide my time.

Florence was shit, so I wont dignify it with a blurb.

Cinque Terre has been my favourite place so far, but alas I was only able to stay one day as I had to make it to Rome. I managed to do some cliff jumping, a nice 3 hour hike, and once again got my tan on. I have some incredible pictures but I cant get them on here. Watching the sunset over the mountains while on a massive rock not attached to the shore was quite the spectacle, even if that doesnt sound that exciting. However, there is very little sand on on the west coast of Italy so one is forced to lie on the rocks. Not nearly as comfortable but when in Rome.

Speaking of, I then managed to finally make my way down to Rome where I had planned to start this whole ordeal. Finally I managed to find a hostel that was full of English speaking people, even if they were from Sudbury and Windsor. But being a man who is now so worldly, I accepted them for who they were. We went on a pubcrawl and I was probably the least drunk person, which I felt was very impressive. Had to drag a thirty year old guy home as he was puking, and no cabs would take him; one girl passed out on the ground but had wandered away so she was alone and got her bag stolen; and some Frenchies were sipping jager bombs. I promptly took said shot, and walked away. The Colosseum, Pantheon, Vatican City, Palatine, Sistine Chapel were all as excellent as promised, which I have found to be a rarity thus far. Again, I have many a picture to illustrate the awe inspiring nature (especially if you are religious) of these places. I do have an incredible picture of my standing beside a sign asking everyone to be quiet as it is a sacred place, whilst I slug back a big Peroni. This is allowed, speaking is not.

Finally we made it to Naples, our last stop in Italy before heading off to Greece. We went to Pompeii to see the ruins, where I was expecting a bunch of dead people but apparently I was mistaken in this belief. Crushed my spirits a little bit. Then headed down to Sorrento to the "beach" which was about 20 metres long and the rest was cement. Luckily the water was warm and we hung out there for 6 hours. Tough day I know.

Now we are off to Greece, which should only take about 14 hours. Not bad at all and it is overnight so hopefully we can sleep. I think this is the place that we will begin our party tour, and I am quite excited. Being the sober person has gone on far too long. That is all for now, love and miss ya'll, and Ill try to update a little more frequently in an attempt to allow you to live through me. Also, anyone wanting to come to Croatia should do so as it will be amazing. Think about it.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb