Sorrento and Capri


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania
April 10th 2006
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh my goodness, I have had the craziest life lately. I took the train down to Sorrento for the weekend. Once I got there, I checked into a hostel and started to explore the city. The lemon groves were so beautiful and looked like to much fun to play in(but you can't). Then I walked to the beach, but the cliffs are so tall that the beach doesn't get any sun until late in the afternoon. After getting a little bored, I decided to take the boat out to Capri. Once I got there, I caught the last boat out to the Blue Grotto. I met a guy on the boat who was from South Korea, but went to school at the University of Chicago. Since we had both lived in Chicago, and it was great to meet someone who spoke English, we became friends quickly. The boats into the Blue Grotto were a little scary. The opening to get in and out is about the size of a small row boat, so you all have to lay down in this tiny row boat to get in. One were were inside it was worth it. It was so beautiful. I couldn't take any pictures that do it justice. Anyway, after leaving the boats, my new friend invited me to go for a bus tour of the island. We headed up to the top of the island, and then we were wisked to the front of an hour long line to ride the chair lift to the top of the island. I was a little confused(and so were all the the people in line), but I didn't think I needed to question any special treatment. It did make me wonder a little about my new found friends. After many breathtaking photos from the top of Capri, we returned to Sorrento. My friend invited me out to dinner with him at the Hotel Excelsior. I of course agreed, and I had the most amazing dinner I have ever eaten. Before dinner, we had a drink on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. When it was time to order, we didn't even look at the menu. My friend just asked me what I would like to eat, and from what I requested my waiter suggested a full menu. I have never done that, but it was very fun. After dinner, he asked me where I was staying, and I said I was staying at a hostel. He would not allow me to stay in such poor conditions, so he offered me a suite at the Excelsior in Naples for the next 2 nights. Yes, it was alone, and no i did not have to do anything for it. It was just a friendly gesture. Anyway, the next day we toured Naples together we went to the shop that is world famous for its cameos. We watched the men make them, and then he bought me earrings, a ring, and a necklace. Then, since he was there on business for only a couple of days, he left. I spent the rest of the day exploring the city by myself. My life really is pretty interesting lately.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb