Change of plans...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
October 12th 2013
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.6263, 14.3757

Woke up to another rainy day, went ahead and met the 3 others who I said I would meet down at Marina Piccola. It is actually much larger than Marina Grande, I mentioned that one a couple of days ago, everyone has their umbrellas out and using them, so it's a small adventure maneuvering down the narrow sidewalks with all of them open!

Found the others and we discussed options for the day, supposedly the ferries would run at 10:30 so I had a cioccolata caulda (hot chocolate), they had espressos, none of us really wanted to do the same thing and with the weather not so good we decided to go do our own thing and meet back for lunch. Did this, ordered a Ceasar salad without the anchovies, it was good but overpriced, this is definitely a tourist town and disappointingly few historical sites to visit. Did the Rick Steve's walking tour by myself after lunch and pretty much saw everything I already had seen but was directed to a palazzo built in the 1200's, the picture below. The street is so narrow there is no way to get a full on photo so just took it of the upper window detail. Ran across a couple of brides, one just coming out of the church of Saint Antonino and the other couple getting their photos in a famous courtyard that many get their photos taken in, I guess some movies have been shot here as well.

Ran into the 3 others again and shopped/walked with them for a little while, went back to the apt took a nap, now I think I'll go walk again to burn off some of the white pasta carbs I'm going to regret when I get back home!!!

The plan for tomorrow is to go to Napoli with the school for an all day walking tour, will report back!

ciao



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb