A day to get caught up...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
October 9th 2013
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.6263, 14.3757

After an exhausting day of hiking over the stones of Pompeii yesterday, it was hard to get out of bed this morning! I did though at about 7:00, took my shower and went to my hostesses apt for a slightly stale cornetto and lukewarm tea... Oh well, off to school! Am totally enjoying, my classes and am so hoping I remember everything!!! We did more review of the basic verbs and indeterminate articles, going onto the plurals of them, in grammar class. In our conversation class, we drew our "ideal house" and then got in front of the class to explain it in Italian, good practice and at times hilarious!

I have very interesting classmates, actually everyone here is interesting, we have a judge from CA who is also a commissioner, pretty high up person with the EPA, an art historian/teacher just back from Cuba, someone from the Netherlands that taught French, two young girls from Russia, another from Ukraine living in DC, recently retired NY police officer that looks like a model. So in the off time no lack of interesting things to talk about.

After class today several of us had lunch down in Marina Grande, at a restaurant recommended to us, Trattoria di Emilia, I had homemade ravioli, and tomato salad, very good! Took photos of some so the other meals represented at the table thought you might be interested. After this, I went back to the apt and took a 1 1/2 hour nap! Then went out and did some grocery shopping, so I can eat in and have real meals. Found a grocery store with good prices and specials, so took advantage of those and had a nice salad, gnocchi with Arrabbiata (angry = spicy) sauce. Also bought sandwich stuff so I can pack my own lunch for the excursion into Napoli to the museum tomorrow. So a nice quiet afternoon and evening today, wish Jim were here, he would have loved Pompeii, a good excuse to come back!
Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

In Marina GrandeIn Marina Grande
In Marina Grande

Lots of water fountains all over... This one is a little different then most.
More of the same... More of the same...
More of the same...

Would you mind doing laundry with this view?


10th October 2013

Hi Honey. I'm enjoying your blog (or whatever the correct term is for it). Pompeii looks awesome. Sometime we will go, unless we are thrown back into the dark ages with this government shutdown. The boys and I are enjoying our new diet of
pork chops, corn dogs, pizza, salmon and shrimp alfredo fettuccine, beef stew, and apple crisp. I did have a smoked salmon salad tonight so it's not all bad for me. Those dinners in your pictures looked awesome. I imagine you are surrounded by that beautiful seafood and are not even tempted. There is a little chaos at work, but everything else is good. We all miss you....me most. Love,Jim
10th October 2013

There's our pretty lady! :D
10th October 2013

You poor baby. How horrible to be subjected to such a view while eating. ;)
10th October 2013

I think I'd get something dirty on purpose everyday! haha!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb