Praiano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Positano
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke at 1.30pm which is a record for me as I don’t normally sleep during the day after a night out, must be due to the lack of light in my room and perhaps the long day I had.

No cornetti’s for breakfast and instead cheese on toast, I’m pretty sure that is the first savoury breakfast on this trip so far, delicious. I caught up on the blog and we decided that we’d catch a bus to Positano and have a wander round there and as it was now 5pm probably dinner there.

Positano is just how I imagined it to be, full of character, quaint and beautiful. The town is the most popular on the coast so is packed with tourists. It’s built into a hill which stretches way up into the heavens. The hotels, shops and homes are pretty colourful and the beach although a dirty brown colour is flat and looks to be sandy rather than pebbles, but I haven’t actually stepped onto the beach yet as it was lightly raining again when we were there for a short time.

The one lane, one way main thoroughfare is dotted with tiny shops which carry all sorts from clothing to ceramics, home-wares to sandals. R bought a pair of sunnies which I’m pretty sure she would have worn to bed as she was ecstatic with their purchase.

We walked down through the maze of tiny laneways and onto the beachfront as the sun was setting and although it was cloudy the red of the sun outlined the clouds creating a beautiful purply/blue hue that seemed to hang in the air. We were seated at the front of the restaurant overlooking the beach and the main steps that comes down from the hilly little town. The restaurant is part of a hotel we realised about half way through our meal and started to fill up fairly quickly as did all the other restaurants along the front. I had tuna Carpaccio for an entrée and mixed local grilled fish. R had mixed seafood Carpaccio and veal. Our meals were lovely and accompanied by a bottle of white recommended by the waiter as I didn’t recognise any style of wine as they were all grown in the immediate region. Can’t remember what it was only that we both agreed that we preferred it to the wine we’d had on the previous night.

During dinner we discussed how we have both really enjoyed our trip and the way it has effortlessly just flowed along. The only stress (if you can call it that) has been finding out which platform our trains are leaving from and heaving suitcases on that first day not knowing what was going on. If I have had a thought from home it has been a quick passing one with not one concern about the businesses, well what’s the point really, nothing I could do from here? It’s been a lovely relaxing fun time and still with another week ahead. The biggest decision I have to make is where/what I want to do to celebrate my Birthday this week. How cool being on the Amalfi Coast for a Birthday, I’m very grateful. I’m thinking it maybe somewhere fabulous for lunch with a stunning view of the coast, or a day at Da Adolpho (Sp?) on the beach and lunch there and then somewhere for dinner?

A quieter night tonight with a wander back through the maze to the bus stop and home for sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb