Ferry to Croatia (Day 82)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Spent the late morning and early afternoon having a walk around town with a couple of the English guys in my room. Went and checked out some of the street art that is pretty common here and wandered around the side streets full of people selling fresh produce. Naples was definitely worth checking out but after a couple days I was ready to head out. Made it over to the main train station to book my tickets over to Bari where I would then catch a ferry over to Dubrovnik. Unfortunately the train I wanted from Caserta to Bari was full so I had to take the next one meaning I would not get into Bari until 1044 and with a ferry leaving at midnight I was a bit worried.

For good reason too since it took a lucky string of incidents to get me there just in time and more luck to get a ticket. The train station is a good deal away from the port in Bari so you have to take a bus. I hopped on the number 20 bus outside the train station which goes right to the port but then the driver informed me that
castlecastlecastle

view of Naples from the castle
the bus is not running anymore tonight. He was a real nice guy though and pointed me to where I could catch either the 21 or 27 buses to a stop near the port. Was waiting a while at the bus stop sure I would miss my ferry when I noticed the 27 bus cutting down a nearby street so I ran after it and got there right as it pulled away from the stop. I don't know if it was the man nearby who saw me and yelled at the driver or me smacking the bus windows a few times but he eventually stopped and I got on. Had a confusing convo with him in Italian, English and Spanish and ended up getting a ride to near the port and then ran over as soon as I could. After all that work it was pretty disappointing to find they had no more deck seats left and all that was left was a cabin for 215 euro. 10 minutes later they told me they had one for 125 and I snactched it up as I really had no choice and had a hostel booked the next day on the other side of the Adriatic. Ferry ride went well as I slept the whole time and woke up in beautiful Dubrovnik.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

baybay
bay

on the bay
ferryferry
ferry

ferry ride to dubrovnik


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb