The Old Town (Day 83)


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

shipshipship

ship i took from Bari to Dubrovnik
Arrived in the port around 8am and made my way over to my hostel just around the port. Met this Dutch guy who it turns out was on the same ferry as me last night and after talking for a bit decided to walk over to the Old Town together. Bout a 45 minute walk but was well worth it since most of it is along the shoreline which is spectacular. From above I could see all these little tucked away coves with people swimming and others laying out on the nearby rocks. Made a mental note to come back later. The old town is really as spectacular as I expected. I've wanted to come here a while and it did not disappoint. It's actually pretty small in scale and we were able to walk all over it in about 2 hours. I can't do it justice so just take a look at pics yourself online.

Had lunch out on the rocks just outside the city walls with a great view over the town. Croatia is definitely what I needed after going to capital after capital in all of central Europes biggest powers. I do have to say I was
covecovecove

swimming cove
a little disappointed to see how many cruise ships stop here and the town can be overrun by these groups during the day but still I like the area where our hostel is just outside of town in Lapad. Took the bus home exhausted and spent the evening relaxing with the other travelers at our little hostel.

I really like this place even with its faults. It's mostly a place full of apartments for couples to stay but the basement has a room for 4 people and a room of 12 people where I am. No real beds, just mattresses on the ground with curtains seperating everyone but it's not bad at all. Just outside the rooms there is a patio with a grill and some tables where everyone chills out in the evening. And yeh, there is a pool so that makes up for any shortcomings in the room. I kind of like being here in a smaller hostel. Only about 10 or 15 of us at a time and everyone knows each other and hangs out and cooks together in the evenings. Big fan of the place and Djuro, the kindly Croatian guy who runs the place single-handedly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb