Rain


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We were going to go to Pompeii, but there was rain today. Gloomy, yucky, horrible rain. Tomorrow
should be better weather. We went to the National Archelogical Museum instead, which houses a lot of
the stuff found in Pomeii and Herculeam.

The museum was pretty cool. I really like the mosaics. My mom wanted to see the "secret room," which holds the erotic stuff. Mostly it was satyrs having sex with women, and lots of penises. I think my mom took more pictures in there than in the whole museum combined. She wasn't alone, a lot of people, mostly middle aged women, were taking pictures

I was sort of ho-hum about the whole thing, and was more interested in surepticiously taking a picture of the nun who was looking at the stuff. I managed to get one, probably blurry shot. I was happy.

We witnessed our first demonstration!
Berlusconi was in town for some reason that I can't figure out, and there were protests of all kinds. Protesters everywhere, protesting many different things, and LOTS of police. I heard that over 200 were arrested, but I never saw any of this.

After the museum, we walked around a bit. There were so many police around that it was probably the safest day in Naples. Then we went to get pizza from the birthplace of the Margharita pizza. The place has been around since 1790. We first had the antipasta platter of various veggies meats and cheeses, then the pizza. YUM. I was so full! I'm still full, hours later! I have a mild headache, but it was so worth it.

Now I'm watching the Eupopean Soccer cup, Manchester U. vs. Chelsea. In Italian, not that I wuold understand it much better in English. Damn,this game is long!!!

So tomorrow, Pompeii, the cameo factory and maybe the chocolate factory. We'll see how the weather fares. Then onto Florence on Friday.

Ciao,

ADJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb