Pompeii


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
June 18th 2018
Published: June 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The ruins of Pompeii were not what I expected. I expected some rocks and rubble. The reality is there is a amazing, intricate city that was preserved in volcanic ash from the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in 79 A.D. Pompeii had shops, theaters and homes for citizens. This was a fascinating experience.

Side bar, had a dinner conversation with an American on the same tour of as Jack and I about our impressions of Pompeii. She said, "I was disappointed because I thought Pompeii would be like what I saw on the Discovery Channel."


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Temple of JupiterTemple of Jupiter
Temple of Jupiter

Mt. Vesuvius in background


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb