reflecting on home- blast from the past (inspiration 2009 Florence Italy)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Basilicata » Matera » Bernalda
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My thoughts have been swimming towards the past lately...i've been hovering in warm memories of home in Connecticut, not even of Florence. And because of the holidays coming up, being a new town, new apartment, new life in many ways, I've taken solace in the feelings of comfort and magic that I felt in CT during my childhood/adolescent years.

I've also realized that making a home or nest is not as easy as all that poetic rhetoric describes- an honorable challenge. It's not attached to place, as most say, and yet it's the qualities of that physical place that provide the skeleton upon which we add, build, transform our needs and desires into what we can physically and mentally call "home". I'm not there now, not yet. We'd built a small nest of sort in Florence. Shared experiences dictate that. My original home is Connecticut, in the home I grew up in and where my parents still live, and I dream of visiting it often. I call it my original home because it's the setting of most of my dreams, it's how I eat, how I want to raise children, how I laugh, bake bread, vaccum, wash my hair, these are all aspects of the 'me' that I am now that were developed THERE. And I recently feel compelled to remember the habits of daily life back then (and most likely now-as time in memory is stagnant)-my mother's fuzzy bathrobe and warm italian bread, her classical music on the AM radio, my father's glasses and bushy eyebrows as he reads in his study, our old piano, warm light and creaking wooden floors, these all seem like reassuring building blocks to me, blocks that I fall back on psychologically as I seek to ground my feet into the earth below me now. Some would tell me to cut myself off from that, that home is ... (this and that, that and this, but always referred to as "where the heart is") and yes I can feel and understand all of these theories and wise sayings, but I'm not going to deny the obstacles of FEELING home when I'm trying to figure out how to put together the first few twigs of this particular nest.

So with this said, I've decided to revisit the past...Florence from almost 2 years ago...and publish them here. Reflections of Florence's architecture, sculpture, sense of design and pattern, my own identity within it all. And little by little, I'll find my creative way here as well- most likely paralleling my attempt at defining home in Basilicata.

Advertisement



12th December 2010

art from an American in Florence
Hi, Cristi .... love reading your blog. I have just purchased (a very big gift to myself!) a painting by Eveyln McFarland (an American artist who lives in Florence with her husband, Hunter Eddy .... also an amazing artist). It's called "Boboli Gardens" and has a wonderful, spiritual, dark and mysterious feeling. Will take a photo of it and send it along to you.
12th December 2010

art
I can't seem to blow up the pictures. I'll keep trying. I am anxious to see your work in color. I'm much more used to seeing you work in very tight pencil sketches. But the Medusa and the Florentine print have me excited! More later. I have to comment to you personally too. Will do that on regular email. xoxoxo
12th December 2010

art
I just clicked on the sketchbook images and they came up! Wooohoo! I L O V E that yellow and red print. It makes me want a tablecloth in that fabric. Work on that for me please! Ronda
13th December 2010

Reflecting on home
Ah, cara figlia, you do me honor. And bring tears to my eyes. Your art is lovely - I've never seen it before, and your writing, as usual, is sensitive, honest, and beautiful. You will make a nest of comfort and beauty there, and Connecticut is always in your heart as well as here.
15th December 2010

alberghi roma
Congratulation for this blog, there are a lot of interesting news. alberghi roma

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb