The Cliffs of Moher


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
September 24th 2016
Published: September 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 9 of us, that is 9 out of the 12 people in the API program, decided to go on a bus trip to The Cliffs of Moher. Finn, one of our directors, even got us a little discount. Now really quickly I'm going to talk about Finn and Kevin.
Finn and Kevin are married and they are our API program directors. Compared to other programs, API was expensive. It was generally the most expensive program on the list of options. There is no doubt in my mind that I would be having as good of a time here as I am if it wasn't for Finn and Kevin. I've only been in Ireland for about a month and already I can't imagine not having them there through each step of this process. Finn especially is a very rare type of person. I feel so safe and loved when she's there, she's always looking out for us and keeps telling us how she's always there for us and that's special. It means so much to go to another country and have someone who is behind you and wants you to succeed every step of the way. Not to mention she has
The CliffsThe CliffsThe Cliffs

This view will never get old
connections in every area possible so I know I can always call her for advice or help.
Anyway, the bus came to get us at about 9:10am at Gort and of course it was raining. We had known that rain was a strong possibility, but we bundled up and made the journey. Our bus driver was Gerald. Was a great man Gerald is. He was our driver for our trip out to Conamara, and he would be our driver the next day to Bunratty Castle. He's just a nice man. So we drove out to the Cliffs and amazingly it stopped raining. It was so out of the forecast and nobody expected it to have stopped, but it did. It was so wonderful that it did because it made the experience so much better.
Before we went to the cliffs we stopped at the cave place where, for 5 euro, we got an underground tour of a cave. It was very cool to be that far down and to see actual spots where these beats used to climb in and hibernate for the winter. We saw underground waterfalls that our guide said have never stopped flowing. Since it has rained
The CliffsThe CliffsThe Cliffs

I can't stop admiring it.
earlier that morning the rain was still seeping down through the rock so sometimes we'd get hit with a drop or two walking through the cave.
The cliffs themselves are breathtaking. The fact that somethings so beautiful can be created out of the power of the ocean is insane to think about. Honestly, the cliffs are dangerous. But, I think that's what adds to the effect. All of us were walking on the outside and nothing really separated us from the edge. To feel so vulnerable and suseptible to nature's forces was a really eye-opening thing. Standing there, looking at this beauty I realized I wasn't invincible and that it was my responsibility to make my time on earth worth it.
On a lighter note, I wore my rain boots and it was amazing because I could wade through all of the mud and the puddles and it didn't matter. I'm a bit like a kid in that sense; I love the feeling of soft mud under my shoes or splashing through a puddle.
On our way back to Galway we stopped along the road and took in the sights and took lovely pictures.
On the way back I started to get so hot and I felt nauseous. The bus first dropped people off in Eyre Square before going to Gort, but I felt so sick I just got off at the station and I had a really nice walk back in the fresh air.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb