Making sure we have everything we need


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Laminated MapLaminated MapLaminated Map

Planning our route! Lots of changes as we negotiate!
Hi all, Just thought I would update you on my preparations for Ireland. Maybe it will be helpfull for anyone else preparing to travel. I have bought my new tiny netbook so I'm checking all my hotels to see if they have wireless service so I can blog along the way. This thing is so small and light it won 't take up much space in my carry on at all. I'm also planning to get online to order a backup battery and power converter for laptops since the one in my netbook has only 3 hours of battery time. Any tips on this would be appreciated! Since my husband or I (usually at least one of us) always gets the airplane seat with the broken video, we are bringing DVD's and I have loaded the computer with games. I also tried to get my blackberry changed to international, but my model doesn't allow it. So I had Verizon send me a rental for $49.99 dollars + the cost of each call about 99 cents. I can keep it for 30 days. Not bad. At least I can call the tow truck if our car breaks down or a taxi if we get lost! I don't know about you, but I can never hear the movie or music over the sound of the plane, so we bought noise canceling ear buds. Hope they work as well as they claim! I have extra batteries charged for my camera. My favorite (and I think incredibly smart!) idea was to buy a laminated map of ireland and dry erase pens to plan our driving route and to circle all the sites we would like to explore. This way, I can draw our route and then when I need to make a change after Jim and discuss our differing areas of interest and come to a compromise (I hate having to do that!). I can just wipe it off and change it. When we finalize the route, I'll tranfer it in pen to our paper map. BTW... We also ordered The Complete Road Atlas of Ireland by Ordnance Survey recommended by Rick Steves. I hope it is as helpfull as he believes it will be. It's supposed to be THE MAP to use if you are driving. Anything I forgot?

Advertisement



15th September 2009

Im new!!
First off! YAY YOUR GOING TO IRELAND! You must share everything! Im going in March '10 cant wait. I plan to follow and it seems like you have everything in order, I also bought a map like yours have a wonderful time! Katie NC, US

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb