My time over in Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
August 30th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Flooded plainsFlooded plainsFlooded plains

Pretty crazy this place. This used to all be fields and crops and housing etc. then about 100 years ago there was a break in the land between this inland low lying area and the sea and the whole place has been flooded ever since. So much land lost to the ocean...
This one is actually from the 17th to the 31st but I been lazy writing it up!

Tim version:
* Saw grandparents and relatives and all are doing OK.
* It rained. Lots. Think I got 1 dayof sunshine.

Longer version:
Mostly a personal visit over here so not a tonne to write up. Mostly chilled out with the grandparents at their place doing the odd visit here and there and ducking up to the Library to use the net (worst freakin connection ever!). Got to hear a good lot of family history and stories from them which was really appreciated. Met up with a good few relatives that I hadn´t seen for a while which was awesome. Went out to this really good pub too, a place called Muriels in Belfast City with a couple of mates (sons of my dad´s friend) and had a few too many, then an awesome Italian dinner with one of them and another family friend I needed to catch up with a few days later. Again this part of the trip was mostly rellies so while lots went on it won´t mean anything to anyone else.

Just outta luck
Scarbo TowerScarbo TowerScarbo Tower

This is Scarbo tower, taken just near the flooded plains
on the last night a bunch of chicks from a few houses down were having a party and came hunting for me at about 11:30 so I headed down there and ended up staying and havin a few drinks until about 2:30 so that was an awesome little finisher to my time in Ireland!

It was an awesome visit but man I was so sick of the weather, its depressing! Especially after it was the same in England too! So while I was sad to say goodbye to the grandparents I was so happy to get to Portugal... heh and in one night here I´ve got more to write about than Ireland and England combined heh


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Belfast City building 1Belfast City building 1
Belfast City building 1

I name this building 1 as I cant remember what the hell it was. cool looking though...
Belfast City Town HallBelfast City Town Hall
Belfast City Town Hall

... and the side of their version of the London eye. Its such an eyesore!
Time for  a dipTime for  a dip
Time for a dip

Such a sunny beautiful day in Newcastle
Grannies old schoolGrannies old school
Grannies old school

And I thought my primary school (25 to 30 people all up) was small...


Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb