Physical Activity


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Meath
February 9th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ireland vs. FranceIreland vs. FranceIreland vs. France

Get Em!!!!!!!!!!!
Ireland loves it's sports. Football, Gaelic Football, Hureling, and of course Rugby. It just so happens that there is a big tournament going on called the 6 nations Rugby Championship involving Ireland, England, Scotland, Italy, France and Wales. I've had a bit of exposure to the game so when Ireland was playing France the family that I am staying with took me to their local pub to watch. We are out in the country, remember, so the pub was small but packed full of people. We walked through the door into a swarm of singing, cheering, chanting, screaming Irishmen. Story goes that this tournament is every 4 years and last time France beat Ireland, so everyone was seeking revenge. In an atmosphere like that how could I not get behind Ireland's team and watch with suspenceful oooohing and ahhhing and ouching the whole 80 minutes. Let me try to describe this game: big guys, no pads or helmets, 40 minute halfs and special time set aside for injuries (which are inevitable). It is comparible to American football in the sense that there is a lot of tackeling going on, but the actual rules and form are very different. It is kind of like 2 teams of fierce guys playing with the intensity that they will save the world if they win, that the ball they are after is worth 8 kajillion dollars/eros/money, and that they will stop a player on the other team by whatever means necessary. But, boy, is it fun to watch! Ireland beat France and the celebrating hasn't stopped yet. They will play Italy next, but everyone is savoring the win until the next match, which I will be watching, in some crowded pub, with a pint in my hand and my voice sure to be lost.

On a note that makes me feel like a complete whimp after watching those guys, my knee hurts. It hurts bad. So bad that I went to a physical therapist. So bad that I haven't been running very much and when I do I end up having to walk. Trust me, I have tried to run through the pain, it isn't happening. I am terribly frustrated by this set back, but I'm keeping in good spirits about it and hoping for the best. The PT thinks that it is Iliotibial Band Syndrome (which was what I self diagnosed as!) and gave me stretchs to do, used some tools to rub some kinks out of my leg, and told me to take it easy. I am half taking his advice and half taking my own resulting in taking it semi easy to medium. But seriously, after watching a rugby match I feel like I should be going outside and lifting up cars, not running a few miles and limping. Maybe if I click my knees together three times and say Painless, Painless, Painless...

Advertisement



21st February 2009

Go girl!
Speedy recovery to you from Speedy Greens. Attend to the "heart on your knee Syndrome". The emotional aspect of pain in the knees is "heart" issues, changing direction, and moving forward. Feel the love form here....sending energy your way! Cathy

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb