Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Meath » Ashbourne
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We've had three beautiful days in Ireland. What a difference from NYC. When we left NY on Thursday it was in the 90's and humid. We arrived to what felt like a fall day. People here are always talking about the weather. I guess I would too if I had to turn the heat on during the summer. Friday night we had fish and chips from the chipper. I had my favorite, a chip buddy. Buttered batch bread with fries in it. Yum Yum... There aren't many other options for vegetarians. After dinner we went out for a proper drinking sessions at Kelly's in Ashbourne. The bartender actually recognized me as Conor's girlfriend. Now that's the sign of a good bartender. Not bad for having only met the guy once or twice before. I was impressed until David pointed out it was probably my American accent. After the parents went home I stayed out with Conor's mad brother, David, and went to H2O, the local night club. No other place but Ireland would you see not one, but two lads on crutches at a nightclub. I saw the first guy on crutches and thought to myself, "That's a little unusual." Then I looked to my right and saw another guy on crutches, and I then remembered that I was in Ireland. Saturday morning we woke up to a fry. Conor's mom makes the best fry. Not that I can really eat much of it, but I still enjoy the smell, and my mom got to experience a full Irish breakfast. Jean, Conor's mom had all of my favorites stocked in the house (Brennans Batch bread, Strawberry Jam, etc...). I took my mom into Dublin and saw the Book of Kells at Trinity and then made my usual stop at my favorite store in Dublin (Penneys). That's all the shopping I'll do for now, I forgot that even though I'm getting a sale in Ireland I still have to double the price. Ouch...
My mom and I our on our way to Prague today. Can't wait.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb