Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
July 28th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I honestly made a good attempt at learning Czech. I was able to get by with some basic greetings, but I wasn't very good at it. Not many people spoke English, which was a good experience because I don't think Americans should have it so easy when they travel. I think it's important for people to make an effort with the language when they visit other countries. A highlight of the cuisine was definitely how many vegetables were served pickled. For those of you that know me, you know that I love anything pickled. One of my first meals was pickled asparagus soup, which which they served with whip cream on top (could have done without the canned cream). I noticed that they served whip cream on a lot of things. I also had some pretty delicious potato pancakes and cabbage salad (almost every night because there weren't many other veggie options). My second day there I meet up with a dear friend of mine from college, who I haven't seen in 6 years. It was like no time had past. We only had a few hours to spend together before he headed off on a night train, so we checked out the museum of communism (which was very informative), had some dinner and of course more than a couple beers as we caught up on lost time 😊. I'm definitely a fan of the dark beer in Prague. It's sweet like caramel candy. The next day my mom and I explored the castle. For people who love art, I would recommend spending some time in the St. George- National Gallery (convent of St. George. It has some beautiful landscape paintings from famous Czech artists. After the castle we found this charming medieval restaurant called USedmi Svabu at 14 Jansky Vrsek (off of roh Nerudova 31). The atmosphere brings you back to the year 1493. I absolutely loved the medieval millet cake. After lunch we took a stroll in Petrin Hill, which overlooks the entire city. A breathtaking view of the city. Especially at sunset. I loved every minute of my stay.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb