Inconceivable!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick » Limerick
May 7th 2010
Published: May 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 107...

Inconceivable! I cannot believe I am down to a final 10 days! So last night was the second to last night at SFC (Students for Christ) and though this last two times are a laid back- play games atmosphere, I definitely have wanted to be there! I was sad i missed the last official Bible study week last week due to Spain, but last night was a blast. Between two new games- Fluxx and Dicecapades it was a great night! I was quickly disheartened however by the time I left and found out that Brent would not be able to be at SFC next week! He's the leader of the group along with his lovely wife, Lori and I have grown very fond of all them and their family of three lovely daughters. But Brent has a conference he will be at next week and by then it will be a mere 3 days until i leave, thus last night was the last night I would see him during this 4 month stay. It was the first time since being here I felt tears well up in my eyes over the idea of leaving Ireland. I have been saying for the last month that the thing i will most miss is the people and I didn't realize it until last night when I said goodbye and hugged Brent for the last time.

Then another sad blow, my friend Tim who is also a member of SFC, also a fellow "fourth" year like me, also with a loved one across the pond, last night was his last night as well, as far as SFC for this spring semester. I am sure he will see Brent and Lori again in the next several weeks, but I would not see him next Thursday. He graciously drove me back to UL and dropped me off at the Kemmy Business building and we had a nice conversation. We haven't spend an extraordinary amount of time together, but when we have, I feel comfortable and close to him, like a brother. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact he is my age, is in his last leg of college, and has his fiance 3000 miles away from him, like me. He also, though not an architect, talks the same language with drawings and projects- all too familiar a topic- ha. But it's nice. He's let me cry on his shoulder and is just a bit more mature than most of the boys in our SFC group. I wish I had gotten more time to hang with him because he is a pretty cool guy. He reminds me a lot of Beau and makes me miss Beau all the more. Hopefully, I will see him next weekend, he will be on campus and I'll hopefully catch him at some point just for a last goodbye and best wishes for his wedding on June 23! Congrats to him and his lovely bride-to-be.

Well, still no internet in-room, but my dear friend Teresa is a gracious person and has loaned me her computer before and is willing to do it again tomorrow and Sunday night- so I am quite happy. It will get me through one more hard weekend. This time next week I will be packing things up, hard to believe, but too true.

It's not too bad, I've thankfully found quiet places, empty rooms, peaceful evenings and times I can skype my family and beau- so it's not too bad. I will admit I will miss the quiet empty rooms that I can pack up and leave and not have to worry about. There's something enjoyable about being able to bring your belongings to a place that isn't your's, settling down, and then packing up again and leaving- not really sure what it is, but I like it a little.

On a lighter note, I am very excited about coming home to American food- oh my gosh. I can't believe I've gone this long without Olive Garden and Cherry Creek Catfish- cannot wait- and most of all- Tex Mex. Also, I am pretty excited about the movie selection this summer- lots of good ones already out and cannot wait to gobble them up!

I am also on the hunt for a decent job. The two possible and most valuable ones totally fell through, so I am praying something will pop up soon. Until then, I am excited about diving deep into my writer's market book and writing away!

Other than that, not too much, except the weather here has taken a strange turn from balmy, warm, and wonderful, to cool, cloudy, and temperamental... gross. Even right now it is very cloudy, quite windy, and I am wearing a knee length skirt! Ugh. Oh well, not too far to walk.

i am a bit nervous about finals because of the formality they take here, but I am sure it will be swell and i'll get through them just like any other final. I jus pray my GPA doesn't plummet like a lead balloon. I am particularly disturbed by my stupid EH 4002 Renaissance Lit class, which normally I would enjoy, but this is a first year 200 people lecture with children away from home for the first time- UGH! Also the tests are completely asinine i've taken 2, both worth 10% and pretty sure bombed them. I had a paper worth I guess 20-30%- I pray I got good marks on that. My final is worth 50% so it swings a heavy blow, and I pray I rock it. But I am un-nerved by the fact I pretty much flunked 2 "quizzes" but it was stupid. I won't go into detail except to say, when a professor lectures 2 days over the characteristics of a metaphysical poem, one would think to see a question about the characteristics of a metaphysical poem- but no, instead "define 4 greek terms used by Aristotle to describe poetry"- a one slide in a presentation never brought up ever again in the second half of this module. WTF- Why THAT FACE?! UGH! Moving on.

That's about it. I hate Ren Lit, can't wait to blow through this final on Monday and then buckle down hard for the Sociology final- I have a minute chance of doing well in.

Ironically, the academia of this semester has been my least favorite and most painful part of this experience, but regardless, I have enjoyed it and all i can do is hope for the best and find it funny I am actually looking forward to summer school for American history II to hopefully bulk up my GPA a bit after this sudden crash and burn.

10 Days.... Bring it.

Advertisement



8th May 2010

:)
Going to be excited to have you back in America, cant wait to hear all of your stories!
8th May 2010

Great posts!
http://joysoftravel.webstarts.com/

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb