Baptist Church??? And the First Years came back...


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick » Limerick
January 24th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 6

So slept until 11 this morning which felt great- I slept SO well. First day I woke up not feeling still exhausted. went to go find classes on campus only to find out I could not find them. Rather counter productive in that area today. I was supposed to go find them with Cassey, but when I got the bus stop (which is a 15 min walk, ugh) she was not there, but a random girl who remember my face from Friday remembered me- very random! She introduced herself and I met 3 other people Sarah, Megan, and Rick who actually lives next door to me I found out! Carissa, the girl who recognized me, was really sweet! She and the two other girls live in Dromroe- a nicer, but quieter place. Though right now I'd settle for quieter... but I'll address that in a minute.

After wondering around by myself, I ended up in the main building broken up into 5 sections A-E with Floors: 1, 2, M, and "O" that's not even the order they are in but I cannot remember it! The Building sections are bad enough, with very little indicator which section you are in, though if you watch for the fire doors it says...woo. Also, parts of one section aren't available to walk straight through you have to go down a flight or up one and back to the original level to access the part of the section you need.......

....

AHHHHH! SO CONFUSED! Even our guide told us it took her most of 3 of the 4 years she's been there to completely figure it out and they are always adding and remodeling areas so it changes frequently. To Harry Potter fans, I compare it to the moving staircases...you just never can be sure...I think Rowling must have visited here and said, "Hmm, an idea..." heh.

But I met a cool girl from France who helped me a bit to understand it. I am still a bit lost...

I told her I was from Texas and she said there are "cool" and "bad" Texas cities...when she asked where I was from I hesitantly said, "...Austin...?" "THATS THE COOL ONE!" .... Phew lol- I was glad to hear that. She said, "Is it Houston that has horrible traffic?" LOL! "YES! It is." Way to go Houston, your miserable traffic is legendary in other countries overseas...You should get a trophy...or not.

After talking with her I found some of my friends and left with them and had a grilled cheese at the house of one of them and it was delicious. It was the second time I'd had one from her- she's officially my grilled cheese sandwich go-to person. Went to the grocer with Molly, a girl I hadn't hung out with before, but she's really cool and really sweet 😊 She has dread locks! When I went though I couldn't get to a basket (not a cart, which is actually a trolley) so I thought I'll carry stuff...well after about the 20th pound in one arm, I said, need a basket. Still not able to find one. IT WAS SO BUSY! Found half an empty box from packaging that had been left on the floor. So I piled all my stuff into it and looked like a pathetic hobo and I am sure everyone was like, "What the crap?" FINALLY Found a basket sitting on a dolly with boxes, so I left my boxes and took the basket! WOOT! I upgraded all the way up 😊

Checked out, walked the 1.5 miles back to my place. Dropped food off and met my roomie Carrie who's across the hall from me. Her mates were there along with Daniel another roomate who has not replaced the American girl Lauren who used to live across from me too. Yes. A guy lives about 4 feet from my door, very strange. A girl named Donna will live next to me and Chris and Allen will live down stairs along with another guy I forget his name and a new guy. Though Daniel is new too, new to the school, not country. So, I am now the only American- woot. Molly actually lives with 5 others and none are Irish! Swedish, Belgium, South Korean, and Austrian. So cool. Watched GLEE with Carrie's mates until they left and then talked to Carrie some- She's an Equine Sci major! SO funny- takes me back to my days with my first roomie Ellen at Tarleton 😊 Anyways, so we have a lot to talk about!

Went to dinner at Amandas- again- chicken nuggets! Watched Dancing on Ice which is the British version of Dancing with the Stars except here it's on ice. So cooler...I guess. Didn't recognize any of the celebs except a judge who was previously Baby Posh- Emma- random.

Everyone then was getting ready to go to the Lodge - a pub that is the place to be on Sunday apparently. I had very little interest in going and was going to, but decided not to. Yes, lame. Even though the group I was going with promised to stay only a little bit because they aren't heavy party people either (good to know) I heard from my Irish roomie that it's a hardcore night and it's always packed. So I was like...no thanks. Oh yes, the first years or freshmen came home today....Oh my gosh...SO SO SO SO LOUD! UGH! When I first arrived a guy from the office came by the second day and said, "No one here yet?" "No. Not even a room mate!" "Haha, enjoy it while it last" he warned. I smiled, but really didn't believe how much I'd wish I'd enjoy it all the more now since the campus is crazy loud now. Hope I can sleep.

Found out there's a BAPTIST Church here in Limerick! Got onto Skype with the parents and they found it and I am so excited! I didn't expect to find my denomination, though I was happy to try a Anglican church, really anything- just to get into a Christian community. Hope this Baptist church works out! But I wonder if they follow the whole "no drinking or dancing"...I mean, that basically disqualifies them from being Irish, yes? Haha, we'll see, maybe it's an exception- not that I come from a very strict Baptist church, but I do know some of the more traditionalists can be quite harsh about drinking and dancing.

Talked to Beau just now too- it's always good to see him. I LOVE Skype. So glad it's here.

Oh YES!- My radiator finally WORKS! ANNNND I have HOT HOT HOT STEAMY water in my sink AND shower!!!!! <3 <3 <3 SO Happy to come home to these wonderful surprises. God definitely knew my needs from last night and he totally provided. He is faithful 😊 and his mercies are new every morning. I remember taking a ice cold shower last night after such a horrible day and thinking, "At least I have a shower and I will stand in this icy shower and appreciate it because I have it." I cried after it because I was shivering so much, but I knew I needed to realize there are far worse problems outside of me not having hot water. But I am sure dad-gum thankful for it tonight.

Anyways, a MUCH better day. Now praying for a good first day of school. The semester officially starts for me tomorrow! Let's see what's next in my adventure, yes? 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb