Leaving Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kilkenny
October 10th 2022
Published: October 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Dublin after my first 4 day stay . Lovely city , easy to get around and lots to see and do . I checked out of my b n b and found my way to the hotel with little problem . As always I was to early to check in so chose to visit Dublin Castle . Such an amazing history all the way back to the Vikings , Part of the tour showed us the footings they had built when the first fort came into existence. They were only unearth in the recent past . The scale of the original castle was really large . Kind of hard to get my head around as the whole notion is so foreign to our history . The fact that it has existed in various conditions for more than 800 years 0is amazing . The state rooms are truly magnificent . And they are 300+ years old .. The British certainly did have a desire for grandure . The gardens must have been fantastic in their day . Now is the end of the season so only the hardy are still growing . I did have a great lunch of salads eating in the courtyard of the Beaty Gallery . It was the first greens I had eaten in a few days.

I returned to the hotel ,met my room-mate for the next 9 days and joined the rest of the group for an orientation. We are 12 .3 couples (one on their honeymoon) 4 single women and a pair of women friends . .5 Canadians , 4 from the US , 2 Germans and a Brit . Our guide ii s also British .We all went out to a Pub for supper and a pint and it seems we are quite compatible .

Sunday was relatively free so given the rains I chose to make it a church day . I attended the mass at St Patrick in order to hear the choir . I was amazed at how formal and solemn it was . The choir performance was wonderful and certainly worth hearing but I was an observer not a participant in the service . After church I wandered in the Sunday market in the adjoining park but rain didnt make that pleasant so I headed down the hill to Christchurch Cathedral . It is the oldest church in Dublin and I liked it . Not as grand as Patrick but very appealing to me . It didn't have that rigid divisions between the altar and celebrants and the parishioners. The tile floor was interesting and although repetition was there it had many different designs . This was true at Pattrick as well .

I was a bit chilled so I again found a bowl of soup before joining the group for a tasting at the Tilling whiskey Distillery.. It is relatively new to the industry although the family had been in the business until the 1970s . The New Yorkers in the group say it is a very popular brand in their community. I had never heard of it . I enjoyed the taste but think I prefer Jamisons .

Supper last night ,at a vegetarian restaurant where I had a mushroom moussaka, was followed by a Pub where I tried a third red beer. .I like them better than Guiness. We later moved to another pub that had live music . It was great ! A youn woman playing a fiddle had the fastest moving fingers I have ever seen . The fellow with her playing the guitar was no slouch either . Good fun.

I am currently on our bus that has WiFi heading to Kilarney .

Hope all is well . Thanks for the notes and comments.

Advertisement



10th October 2022

Have a good trip
Happy to hear that all is going well. I recognize your curiosity and sense of observation. Have a nice trip. P.S. thank you for the wishes on my birthday.
10th October 2022

A world away.
Thanks Pam. Getting a bit of feel for the flashes of Ireland you are sharing.,, You evoke the atmosphere in your writing so well, from the chilly rain to the formal church architecture, to the heady smell of roses and on and on. Looking forward to the next blog entry and hoping your trip proceeds well. You've allowed my imagination and probably that of other friends to travel with you to a certain degree. Gros mercy.
10th October 2022

Whiskey and rain
Glad to know that you had a good experience in Dublin and are set to enjoy time with the group in the west of Ireland. Happy Thanksgiving.
10th October 2022

Enjoying your blog and happy you are safe and happy too. Happy thanksgiving! We celebrated yesterday, so today is a clean up and rest day! Take care, and don’t let the blarney get to you….
10th October 2022

Vegetarian moussaka sounds delicious, if a little out of place. Ha. Love to read of your adventures. Thanks for bringing us along with you.
11th October 2022

SOUNDS GOOD
I HAD A WONDERFUL WEEKEND WITH THE MICHELLE CLAN AND AM BACK AT THE COLD WINDY FARM. WEATHER LOOKS LOUSY FOR THE THE NEXT WHILE. I HOPE YOUR WEATHER IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU TO CONTINUE YOUR ADVENTURE WITH PLEASURE. ROGER
11th October 2022

What an adventure.
So interesting Pam, lots of history. I guess Dublin is very Catholic. Great that you got to see two churches. The group sounds very diverse, I like that . We leave today I should have set up a blog too. Enjoy.

Tot: 0.446s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb