Cork to Kilkenny


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kilkenny » Kilkenny
August 1st 2013
Published: August 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Last night I learned some Irish step dancing. I knew it was difficult, but didn't know it was this hard. After a little bit, I get it down. We are a large group and its a small room, so we all get pretty hot. At least I got a cardio workout. Then, the professionals danced a bit for us. They were amazing, what talent! Then as we were leaving the pub, we could see that it was raining. I didn't bring my raincoat. The bartender was outside too and ran back in to get me an umbrella. I told him it was okay, that I didn't have far to walk. He insisted I take it; while making fun my of high pitched voice. The people of Ireland are so friendly and treat you as if you've been friends for life. It was great night in Cork. Today brings more typical Irish weather. The weather shouldn't be too much of a factor in our day. We head to the town of Cobh. This town was the last port of call for the Titanic. Cobh was also the place were millions of Irish left their homeland for America during the potato famine of the late 1800s. The museum had many interesting exhibits. After having a cup of tea, it was back on the bus. We traveled through County Tipperary to Cashel. The Rock of Cashel is the main attraction in this small village. It was under construction, so we decided to just walk around and have a nice lunch. The rain begins to stop and it was an enjoyable afternoon. Now we make our way to Kilkenny, where we will be staying tonight. After some free time, we have a guided walking tour of Kilkenny. It is a town that still looks Medieval; however the McDonald's sign reminds me that we are in the 21st century. Our tour guide was a classically funny Irishman. The city center was bustling with people. We saw the Smithwick factory and I could smell the hops from outside the plant. We went into an old church that is still an active parish today. The stain glass windows are magnificent. It was great to walk around and see all of Kilkenny. Next, we went back to the hotel for dinner. Our hotel has a bar attached to it that was once a church in Wales. It was torn down and rebuilt in Kilkenny. It was so cool! After dinner we headed to a local pub. It was karaoke night...yes!!! I sang Empire State of Mind with Laura and a few others. We also sang, Where the Streets Have No Name. I don't even want to know how much the locals were making fun of us. Another great day...back to Dublin for the last 5 days of the trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb