Dave In Ireland - Part II


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright so where am I up to?
Two days ago I arrived in Kilkenny, a lovely little town in the South East of Ireland possibly well known for having the same name as Guinness' lighter draught beer - but of course, when in Ireland, everyone just drinks Guinness anyway!
Speaking of drinks, The Irish's favourite three drinks just happen to be my three favourite too!!
Guinness, Milk and Lucozade - Seriously, if its not Black, White, or Orange - It just has no place here in the Emerald Isle.
Anyway, of course when I arrived in Kilkenny, its was raining so much that had the rain fell in Melbourne, Stage 3A would be a thing of the past.
I wandered across the street to lovely little pub called the Pumphouse after dinner to take in some traditional folk music, of course while enjoying a pint or two.
In the morning before I caught the bus to Galway in Ireland's west, I managed to navigate town to take in the obligatory sights.
Galway is the Republics second largest city with plenty of young folk about as the two big Uni's are here.
Had a small dilemma this morning after setting the alarm
The Pumphouse, KilkennyThe Pumphouse, KilkennyThe Pumphouse, Kilkenny

A lovely little spot to enjoy a night of Trad and a fine pint too!
early to catch a bus out to the cliffs of Moher (think Irelands version of the 12 Apostles)
Anyway when downing my pint of milk for brekky I realised that I had left my bus pass in my other pair of shorts. Then of course it hit me that I washed my other pair of shorts last night! Sh1t Sh1t Sh1t!
Ran upstairs to find (of course) my bus pass in my shorts transformed into a little white ball!
After pleading my case to the lady at the Bus Station (she did that tch tch tch thing while shaking her head) she gave me another pass - Phew!!!!!!! Would have cost me 50Euro otherwise for todays trip and to Dublin tomorrow!
The Cliffs were nice, although the wind was so strong, it nearly lifted me clear off the ground,
let alone all the other poor people there that looked like had all just walked out of a bar after putting in a day-long session.
Signing off now to two things that I find amazing and have only seen the like in Ireland!
1. Everyone (at least 90% of them) smoke like chimneys - They banned smokes in pubs at least 3-4 years ago but that hasn't stopped the punters from downing half a pint, and then ducking outside to join the other halfdozen out there puffing away like it was the last tabacco on earth! Same situation when exiting Public Transport, shops, toilets etc etc etc
2. In crowded bars where the band is playing with their amps on 11, everyone can still hear each other and carry on hearty conversations even though they are talking at a normal level. I thought my hearing wasn't bad but the Irish could have conversations with each other at either end of a runway when 747s are taking off while both operating jackhammers and still understand each other!
Dublin tomorrow until Sunday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Taaffes in GalwayTaaffes in Galway
Taaffes in Galway

Best Trad pub in Galway


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb