New blog for a new traveller...


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is my first blog entry on any site. I never thought to put my experiences up for the world to see but then I realized how much I enjoyed reading other people's adventures and cannot wait to have more of my own. Also, I don't expect anyone to really read any of this. So for my own posterity, why not? I spent six weeks in Ireland this past summer on a study session with the USAC program through the University of Nevada. We spent four days in Dublin, one in the Wicklow Mts., and the rest of the time in Galway City. I was the most apprehensive I had ever been in my life prior to this trip. I had never been overseas, had never been away from my family for more than two or three weeks at a time and was scared I wouldn't meet anyone who would want to do the same things as I wanted. Needless to say the plane ride was terrible and lonely. Fast forward to the first week of August, the end of our trip. I had been to Dublin, Wicklow, Roscommon, Galway, the Aran Islands, and Venice, Italy. I met the most wonderful people imaginable. If I didn't make good friends with all 35 people, I made some good acquaintances and many more amazingly deep friendships. While most of them are from Nevada and I'll probably never see most of them again, I think we all came back home with something that can never be matched. With these first entries I am going to look through the journals I wrote and the pictures I took and post some of my fondest memories from the fastest six weeks of my life, and probably the best six weeks. So for anyone out there who's interested, I'll be looking forward to putting up these stories in the future, as I prepare my second trip to Ireland for this coming summer to work for a couple months. And if that doesn't work out, one Hell of a vacation is in order. Happy College Graduation to me. Slainte!

-Kim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb