Ballinasloe again


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Ballinasloe
June 15th 2012
Published: June 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday DinnerSunday DinnerSunday Dinner

Leg of Lamb
Friday 15 June - Drinking my tea and thinking things over. Cold and rainy day here. Hard to believe this is June. Good day to catch up on computer work. This weekend or Monday I will head back to Dublin and Wednesday catch that big bird back to Tejas.

Quiet day here. It was raining earlier but should be over for a day or so. Christy, Noel, Maggie, and Wesley are getting ready to fly to Benidorm in Spain for a week. Sometime this weekend or Monday I will go to Dublin for a bit and then go back to Texas for a bit.

I invested most of yesterday and today in setting up a new computer for Christy and Brian and catching up on my blog and doing homework on Dublin.

Saturday – Another cold and rainy day. Just did homework on various things and reserved a bed at The Times Hostel in Dublin for Monday and Tuesday. I sent an email requesting a bottom bunk but they replied that bunks are not assigned so I will have to be sure and get there at check in time in order to stake out a bottom bunk.

Sunday June 17 - Christy, Noel, Maggie, and Wesley have gone to Spain for the week. Brian is fixing lamb for Sunday Dinner and Patrick and Amy are coming over for dinner. I'm pretty much taking a critical look at all my stuff and seeing what to take and what to leave for now. It's been cold here the last few days but looks to warm up a bit today as the sun is shining. It's hard to believe for June but it was down to 47 here last night. It's supposed to warm up to 58 today and we are expecting 62 by Wednesday. I’ll take it over the mercilessly hot and humid Texas weather this time of year.

I am leaving for Dublin tomorrow morning and will be staying at the Times Hostel next to Trinity College and Grafton St. on College Street, Monday and Tuesday. It will cost 16 Euros ($22) a night. The plan is to take the #20 bus from Ballinasloe to Heuston Station where I will take the LUAS line to O’Connell St., and the 140 or 46A bus to D’Ollier Street at College St. where the hostel is. The Hostel is actually at 8 College Street.

The weather was beautiful here in Ballinasloe today so I went out for a long walk all over the town and around.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

St Michaels Church St Michaels Church
St Michaels Church

This is the church where my mother attended mass as a child. While I was in Ballinasloe the bell woke me up at 8AM every morning so I had no need of an alarm clock.
CandlesCandles
Candles

Since my Mom was not with me I lit a candle for her. The third one from the right on the top tier of candles.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb