The final countdown!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

I have decided to start up a blog of my adventures in Africa and though this site is not as fancy as some other people's blogs (ahem) I think it will do just fine for me! Also it's a pretty cool site for those of you who want to get some ideas/info on places to go from people who have actually been there by looking at other people's posts etc or indeed for anyone who is bored in work/trying to avoid study.

I'm not sure how regularly I'll be able to update the blog as our village has no electricity so it will only be on trips to Singida that I'll have internet access, but hopefully I'll be able to add an entry every week or so and once I'm in Uganda access shouldn't be a problem. I think there is some way you can leave comments on this site but I'll leave you to figure that out for yourselves, otherwise there's always email!

In less than 24 hours my trip will be underway and Suzanna and I will be en route to Tanzania. We'll be arriving in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania's main city (random fact: Dodoma = official capital city) at 7am on Sunday 20th May along with some of the other volunteers and will start our Swahili classes at 8am on Monday (8am WHAAAAT?!! sounds much too much like Swiss timetables for me!). We should be travelling to Singida on the Tuesday and will stay there until Saturday to finish our Swahili classes. Singida is the nearest town to our village, Mvae, where we will be heading on the Saturday to set up camp and get ready to start on the building project - the construction of a health dispensary.

So, with my bag (almost) packed and ignoring comments to the effect that the sight of Suz and me building in Africa will resemble an episode of 'The Simple Life' (!) I'm setting off, excited (and a little nervous) for my first experience of Africa, and finally joining the hordes of people who have deserted Dublin to travel before we all have to come back and join the real world.

I'm new to this blogging lark so bear with me and hopefully I'll keep it up! Stay in touch everyone, will miss you all 😊

Marie



Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb