Last Night in Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 24th 2014
Published: September 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, tomorrow at this time, with any luck, I will be arriving home to the happy wags of dog's tails and a big smile from my mom. My sister has been wonderful while I have been gone, taking me to and from the airport, keeping me apprised of the happenings in Fort Collins, and keeping a watchful eye over mother. So tonight I give blessings to her, and to her support. The passing of time, I think, has mellowed us both, and we have become closer as we share the wonders of aging - menopause, total hip replacements and the trials that life throws at us at unopportune times.

I had a wonderful day though. Refreshed, I wondered out for coffee and a scone this morning and then waited for Teresa's phone call that they had arrived in Dublin. I met them downstairs in the lobby and we went out to the Millstone for lunch (same place I had dinner last night) and a tour of Dublin on the open air bus. It was wonderful to see Teresa, her husband, Randy, and their friend Sheryl. We had a wonderful time if even, at times, their heads would nod with weariness from the trip. It is tiring, these long trips overseas.

Thinking over the last several weeks, I try to think of my favorite site. Really there were many. I remember the relief I felt on seeing the green hills of England after my stay in London, seeing the sea for the first time this trip, and the beautiful flower gardens of England all stay in my mind. But I believe the "Swiss Cottage" in Caher, Ireland was my favorite. And so, tonight I close with a picture of it. Needless to say, it gave me many new ideas of interior decorating for my humble abode in Fort Collins.

And so I leave fair Europe. But it will be so good to be back home among the fallling autumn leaves, busy again with fall projects of canning tomatoes, putting a new roof on the chicken coop and other fun projects around the homestead. I look forward to my sewing room, my friends, and all the other joys of my life. I think I will miss my nightly writing the most, alas, but so it goes. So goodnight all. Thank you for following me and sharing the trip of a life time. God bless, and good night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb