Day 41 in Europe - Dublin, Ireland Revisited


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 22nd 2013
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 41 in Europe – Dublin, Ireland Revisited - Jan 22nd 2013:

I am back in one of my favorite Cities, Dublin to catch my Round Trip flight back to San Diego! I will be here for 3 Nights and 2 Days. It is a cool way for my Adventure to come Full-Circle, leaving at the same place that I arrived 40 Days ago. It is really cool to know exactly where I am in the city, where to go, and I’m excited to spend my next few days here. It is a strange feeling, as that every now and then throughout my Adventure, I would see somebody that I think I know from back home, and as I think about saying hi to them I realize that this is not California! Lol.

So my Game Plan for my last two days in Dublin is to do some of the things that I wasn’t able to do my first time here. That includes visiting the Jameson Distillery where Jameson Irish Whiskey was first created, drink at O’neill’s Pub since it is one of my Favorite 3 story Pubs that I only walked through, and buy a souvenir from Dublin since I didn’t buy anything last time.

So to start my Day with a Bang, I decide to go to the Early Jameson Tour at Noon - what better way to start a morning in Dublin then by taking Jameson Shots! I found out that the Old Jameson Distillery is literally connected to my Hostel in the back, so it was a short stumble to the Distillery. I then begin my tour and learn the history of Jameson in the very place where it first started, it was pretty cool.

Compared to the Guinness and Heineken Tours, I’d have to say that this was my least Favorite of the three, as it was not very interactive, a lot shorter and a lot less to see and learn about. Out of my entire group, only 8 of us were picked to do some special activity at the end which was to remain a secrete, and I was one of them! At the end, the 8 of us were specially chosen to do a Taste Test between shots of Johnnie Walker Black Label, Jameson and Jack Danniels, on top of our free Jameson Shot! 4 Shots of Alcohol was not a bad way to start the Day! Lol. Anyway, I passed the challenge and got a Certificate with my name on it saying that I was a Qualified Whiskey Taster, that one day I will frame and put next to my PhD on my Wall! Lol.

I then bought some Jameson Souvenirs and made my way to the Temple Bar area, which is thee greatest place to go Drinking in Dublin. As luck would have it, I went during an Irish Music Festival, so every Pub had Live Music Playing for the whole Day and Night! So what I did was go to about a million different Pubs where I would order a Guinness, listen to Awesome Music, meet and talk to people and then do the same at the next Pub, it was pretty Amazing!

The First Pub I went to had the most Amazing Flute Player that I had ever seen in my life! There was a guitarist playing and singing while the other tore it up on flute, playing solo’s faster then I bet anyone could on guitar! He even busted out the Bagpipes on a few songs, the first time I’ve actually seen Bagpipes being played in person. There I met a really nice lady who said she sold her house and quit her job to go travel the world for a couple years. She had some Amazing stories about her travels and what she plans to do next. Meeting people and talking to them is definitely the coolest thing about Traveling for me, having incredible conversations that I would otherwise never have. It was at the ‘Temple Bar’ in Temple Bar where I ordered one of the most Amazing Irish Coffees that I will ever had. It was Beautifully Perfect and Wished I knew how they made it!

I would then go from Pub to Pub and hear more and more amazing music and meet more and more Amazing people before I would leave to another Pub to grab another Guinness. It was getting late and I still wanted to go to O’Neill’s which was outside of the Temple Bar area so it would be a walk, so I decided to go to one more Pub. I took a Picture of the sign out front as I did with every Pub so I could see which one’s I went to the next day, and happened to take it with a few Girls in the Picture. They thought I was taking one of them so they posed for another picture. This is how I met the coolest girls ever Myrtou , Sara and a couple others that I spent the rest of the night with at that Pub, I believe it was Quail’s Pub. They were both from Italy and really cool. Quail’s had the best Live music and it was the most packed! It was the funnest time ever! We danced, did Irish Gigs, shared Amazing Stories, took a bunch of photos and videos and drank a bunch of Guinness! A perfect Night in Dublin!

Before I knew it, it was super late and I crashed back at my Hostel. With only one day left in Europe, it was strange to think that I was close to leaving this new home that I’ve spent a month and a half at. I will definitely miss Dublin, I absolutely love it here.

-Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Picked to do a Taste Test!Picked to do a Taste Test!
Picked to do a Taste Test!

4 Shots in Total at Noon! Johnnie Walker Black Label, Jameson, Jack Daniels and another Jameson Shot!
Craig GallagherCraig Gallagher
Craig Gallagher

Pretty Amazing Vocals!
They thought I was taking a picture of them!They thought I was taking a picture of them!
They thought I was taking a picture of them!

I was actually taking a Picture of the Pub, but they posed for "another" Picture and I ended up spending the rest of the night with them and others!


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb