Settling in :)


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 26th 2011
Published: January 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

some friends :)some friends :)some friends :)

me, phil, caroline, and whitney at fitzsimons pub

Settling in and living as the Irish do



So after my first two hectic weeks here I'm fiiinally starting to feel adjusted. I've made some Irish friends in addition to my american ones, figured out the cheap(er) foods, and am only one step away from getting my Garda approval to stay here for the semester! I am also a week and a half into my classes and so far really like them!

I'm taking: moral philosophy, political philosophy, contemporary ethical issues, and a contemporary popular literature class for fun. I was planning on taking an irish history, lit, or art class to learn more about the culture until I realized that 1) those subjects are just not at all interesting to me as I've never been much for the humanities or arts and 2) I will learn plenty about the culture by living here for 5 months! So my one none philosophy/theology class is a literature class in which I read favorites such as Fahrenheit 451 and harry potter haha.

The grading system here though has already proven to be VERY different. In America (or at least at Emory) I am usually at the library about 5 nights
trinity1trinity1trinity1

picture of my school a friend took
a week as it is done on a continual basis. We have assignments and papers due sometimes for each class. And then after 4 months of intense work we have ONE week to cram and try and remember everything we had done for the semester for our exams. Here it is very much independent. Basically, you go to class, listen to lectures, they tell you some interesting books you can read if you want and then classes end at the beginning of April and then we have ALL of April to study for our exams that take place throughout ALL of May. So pretty much hearing all of these students talk about how difficult it is here is pretty much laughable compared to the education in the states. I had heard this before coming here but I wasn't exactly sure how accurate it would be but sure enough, there is little to no outside work. My advisers have told me that if I keep up just a little bit of the work ethic I have back home, studying here should be very easy as I won't have to cram like the rest of the students. So instead of going to the library 5 nights a week I am going to just go once or twice 😊

That's pretty much the only news I have lately as I've been kind of battling a cold/cough and I have been pretty busy trying to get all my immigration/bank/classes stuff figured out. Buuut tonight I will be going to the VENGABOYS concert (if you don't know them, they are a cult favorite from early teenager years for my generation) with a bunch of my friends and then I'm going to CORK this weekend with some friends to see the Blarney Stone and Blarney castle and what not. We found the trip through our school and it cost 80 euros for our bus down there, hostel, breakfasts, and all our organized activities which there are several of during the day Sat and Sunday. Can't wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

more friends more friends
more friends

me, caroline, whitney, rebecca, roisin, & karen
leprechaun!leprechaun!
leprechaun!

another photo of a friends


31st January 2011

Can't wait for the next blog!
Hi babe!!! This is addicting!!! Love your stories...... It will make a NEAT mini-book for you to look back and share through the years..... Hope your cold is getting better. Need or want any USA over-the-counter meds? Was the Blarney Stone worth the trip? And Cork? Can't wait to see some pics..... Take care sweetie, we're tinkin' about ya!!!! XOXOXOX Grandma S:)

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb