A Little Note on Advertising in London


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
February 7th 2010
Published: February 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The more targeted media in London - not the more International reflections but rather the work that is likely to be seen by the locals, such as these two ads - I found to be quite striking. It's honest, wrapped up in a little bit of wit. It's bold, and bypasses a lot of the BS that you might often see in media elsewhere. These two ads captured my attention immediately, and actually made me question how the average person here might react. I'm not sure if I'm the only person a little bit thrown back or if it's most people. If you're having trouble reading the ads... the first one you can take to be the distressed face of a traveler that has got into a taxi that wasn't actually a taxi. The message being: Careful of taxis that aren't taxis. The second image has a reflection over the first word, but it reads: He'd Walk Away from this Poster too.

I found the taxi one most thought provoking. Probably just because I'd never in my life second guess getting into a taxi. I might have considered otherwise after watching The Bone Collector, but that was Hollywood. Here, down in the tube, was an ad that made the experience look commonplace enough as to spin a joke on the screams of the framed victim. I suppose I'm not in Kansas anymore.

- tim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb