Cardiff to Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday 27th July Cardiff

Went to bed by about 10pm last night and with Dan's warning about the morning wake up calls not always being reliable it meant that I was awake at 4.30am worried I had overslept!!! DAMMIT!! So after a broken morning sleep I dragged myself out of bed at 6.15am and got my wake up call at 6.30am!!!

Had breakfast which was the works!! cereal, cooked breakfast, fruit..... blah blah..... and then we were OFF to Cardiff Castle for a tour of about 4 rooms and then walked up and in the Motte Bailey Castle - went to the top!! Motte actually refers to the slope created by digging a ditch around the castle and then they pile all this material up in a mound and on top of the mound they build their castle - over time the name has changed to Moat and people refer to the ditch of water as being the moat... After having a look about and checking out the souvenier shops (you can't get out without walking through the shop) we were then off in the bus once again to Pembroke (pronounced Pembrooke) for a look around and something to snack on.

I found this shop called Dragon Alley which was just great - full of all sorts of statues and knick knacks of dragons and fairies and other fairy tales and cartoons.... it was great, I couldn't buy anything as all the things I liked were made of pewter and BLOODY HEAVY and I already have TOO MUCH STUFF to bring home as it is... 😞 and alas I discovered too late the Castle shop which had all sorts of Welsh things with dragons on it... sigh!! If I'd had more time in there I reckon I'd have weakened and bought something...

We left Pembroke and caught the ferry from Rosslare at 2.30pm for the crossing to Ireland!! This took til about 6.45pm and alas was a bit rocky and seeing as I didn't know how to get out on deck was left feeling quite seedy and looking forward to arriving on the other side.....

We finally arrived in Waterford at 8pm where we dumped our hand luggage in our rooms and went straight to dinner which was another 3 course meal of soup, chicken and profiteroles... 😊 yum!!! At 10pm we finished and I collapsed into bed... at least I had thawed out with the meal as I felt FREEZING arriving at the hotel.... 😊

Tuesday 20th July Waterford - Limerick

Awake again at 6am.... I had laid out my clothes the night before (just in case I slept in and had to do a 5 min rush jobbie!!) and opened the curtains on a grey and drizzly day... 😞 not an auspicious start really.... so ended up changing my wardrobe choice for THERMALS AND A SKIVVY!!!! I can't believe I feel starving again after that dinner last night..... 😊

This morning is an optional tour which I selected which is a walking tour of Waterford for an hour with a guide, Jack. When he arrives I do a double take - my god it could be a twin of Uncle Robert!!!! Slightly younger and slightly bigger (not by much) and what an irish accent!!! lol!!! He is a LAUGH!!! He is a real character and really brings alive the history of Waterford....

Did I mention I saw the weather forecast last night and it said "no sign of the elusive summer" rain and wind forecast for the week with a high of 17 in Waterford.... 😞

After the tour it was on the bus to head to the Waterford Crystal factory which closed down in January!! GASP!!!! Before I came over here I was determined to buy something from this place so I entered like a woman hell bent on a serious mission and circled the place about 4 times before picking something... what a nightmare - NO ONE available to help or even interested in helping so I put it back and walk off in the huff and head for the obligatory souvenier shop exit.... and find what i want in a box all ready to go 😊 yay!!!! I didn't completely miss out!!!!!

On the road again.... and next time Blarney Castle and so I had to climb to the top and kiss it... god how unhygenic would this be but no time to think about it cause it's raining again.... lol..... look out everyone - if you thought I talked a lot before then by god this won't have improved the situation - HAHA!!!!!

Grabbed some vegie soup and some stamps and then we are off and on the road again to Kenmare to our resort hotel!!!! We actually did stop again but it was some shop where we got served a free Irish Coffee and could buy (more) souveniers... I abstained... from both the coffee and buying anything!!!! shocking!!! 😊

Wednesday 29th July

Got a wake up call this morning at 6.15am but I was already awake 😊 but feel sooooooo darn tired, so far I think I have managed to nod off at some point of the day while on the bus..... I am sooooooo looking forward to stopping at a place for more than one night.... It won't be tonight either methinks....

Today we drive the Ring of Kerry and stop at the top of some hill at some pub for a rest stop and photos - fortunately the weather has improved a bit but still a grey and windy day.... our next stop is the Red Fox tavern along with about 3 other buses and have a walk through the Bog House Town where the houses are made of the peat roofs that were typical many years ago....

At last we arrive in Limerick and first stop Bunratty Castle for a tour of this and next door is a little replica town, it consists of actual buildings that had been dismantled from different areas around Ireland and reconstructed in this area. Tour was okay - probably wouldn't hurt to have skipped this tour really.....

Anyway tonight we go out for a Medieval Tour to Knappogue and this is fabulous, we arrive and in the entrance room we are given mead to drink until the room is completely packed. Then we are given the rules and some history and enter the banqueting room.... this is a genuine castle which has been restored... 😊

Once seated the four "kings" and their wives appear - these are a couple from each tour!!!!! So it was Elaine and Ed from Canada in our tour and they sit apart from us at their high table... We have four courses for dinner toinght being Salmon, Soup, Chicken and panna cotta... (more food!!) and then there is entertainment being singing and dancing and playing of the harp and other instruments... good fun!!!

Thursday 30th July

Today we are on the road at 8 and have a stop in Galway for about an hour, today I have a headache - I don't think I have had enough water today..... 😞

We get to Dublin and alas I mishear Dan... and hence I miss the bus for our optional dinner tonight by about 15 minutes!! dammit I am starving too.... sigh!! So I head to the local pub with Paul, Robert, Robyn and Steff... for a couple of Baileys to drown my sorrows!!! 😊 (yes! not lemonade Gazza!!)

Dinner is.. a banana and a muesli bar I have stashed in my handbag..... i console myself by using the internet instead and go to bed early......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb