Happy Foreign 4th of July!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 4th 2009
Published: July 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pretty detail workPretty detail workPretty detail work

Hallway at Dublin Castle
We had a big BBQ today in the green outside of our apartment complex, put on by the EUSA program for all of the Americans. It was entertaining to see what all they included as being "American": hamburgers and hot dogs, chicken nuggets from who knows where, lots of ketchup and mustard, "American Style" hamburger sauce, "Born in the USA" played by the DJ, and lots of peanuts. It was the first time that we met a lot of the people from the other programs though which was fun!

Went to Dublin Castle yesterday, and the Guinness factory- I'm trying to get all the touristy stuff out of the way now because I'd like to start focusing on the NOT being a tourist soon!!!

I had my interview a couple of days ago with the brewery, and I am so excited now after hearing what my day-to-day duties will probably end up looking like. I met with a girl named Sarah at their main office and after spending a solid ten minutes trying to explain what the hell a Psych student is trying to do working at a brewery (I think it was harder because I'm not really sure yet either!) she told me that I'll spend some of the time working on site- in the kitchen and behind the bar at the three different local locations. I'll also work with menu preparation and helping them create their seasonal specials. Then, I will also work with a girl name Rachel in the office to do marketing and promotional stuff for the bars as well as their "Celebrity night club" (as she described it!) that is part of the Porterhouse family. I'll work on site for events for that as well- which I'm excited about because it focuses a little more on the business side of things. Then, they have two tapas bars that I'll have similar duties to the on site pub stuff. Next, I'll be working one-on-one with the "brew master" at the brewery to learn about the process and actually get to help in the process as well. Finally I'll be spending a lot of time in the next few weeks helping organize a beer festival they have at the end of the month, where they showcase their different varieties of ales, lagers, stouts, and porters :o). Basically I can't wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Guinness 360 loungeGuinness 360 lounge
Guinness 360 lounge

View from the tallest building in Dublin
The PorterhouseThe Porterhouse
The Porterhouse

The outside of the Temple Bar location
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

At the Guinness Factory


4th July 2009

Happy Fourth
Hope and I send our best wishes to you for the rest of the Fourth. Sounds like a great summer shaping up. Love you

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb