Bloom in Night-Town


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Stalag 17Stalag 17Stalag 17

I snapped this photo of my hostel room in Dublin after the girls left.
Rescued!

Things were looking up for me. I had arrived in Dublin the night before. The cheapest sleeping arrangement I could find—at $50 per night-- was to share a long narrow room in a hostel with four girls my daughter's age. The bathroom was so tiny that it was necessary to step out of the shower to turn around. The next morning I left before the girls woke up so as to avoid any "awkward moments." Due to an unforeseen bank holiday, everything was closed, so I ended up sitting on a park bench contemplating the difference between being homeless and simply not having anyplace to go.

But when I returned to the hostel that evening the girls were gone and my friend Ralph—a graduate student at Trinity College and son of my very dear Zimbabwean friends Rob and Jacquie—was waiting to take me out to a pub.

Night-town

The pub was housed in a shell of a building, as if the place had recently been gutted by a fire that no one noticed. It was packed. A group of musicians played a Irish jigs. I leaned against the wall, pint of Guinness in hand, feeling very
Cheers lads!Cheers lads!Cheers lads!

Ralph, John, and Andrew. Ralph is writing his dissertation on disruptive design and provocative technology. John is a computer guy. Andrew is a professional Viking.
much in the moment. I stood between Ralph and a tiny leather-skinned man with a long wispy gray beard and eyes that sparkled. He reminded me of a leprechaun. I listened in to the conversation he was having with Ralph: "Well fook ya" the leprechaun said. ”Well fuck you too" Ralph replied. Apparently the two were on the verge of battle over a bar stool occupied by one of the leprechaun's invisible friends. I pushed Ralph out the door and asked if there wasn't a nice safe biker bar in the neighborhood we could go to instead.

Trainspotting

I can make out the shrill whistle of Ralph's fire alarm warning us that it has been disabled. Ralph shut it down last night after it went off several times. It monitors the house's ancient electrical system and rings each time it detects a short circuit. Perhaps the alarm itself had a short circuit. Would that make it self aware, I wondered, or just broken?

Ralph took pity on me and invited me to sleep at his place. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to escape the hostel. If you've seen the film Trainspotting, then you might have some
Conversation PieceConversation PieceConversation Piece

Stuffed monkeys grace Ralph's mantle.
idea about what Ralph's place looks like. He describes it as a squat that they rent. It's a Georgian style building with high molded ceilings, holes where elegant chandeliers once hung, and peeling paint. Perhaps the home of an upper middle class family 200 years ago, it would have been shared by 50 or 60 families a century ago. Some would have rented sleeping space in the hallways. Eventually a few of the residents would have contracted tuberculosis and the health department would have boarded it up.

Fast forward to now. Ralph lives here with several roommates. They furnish the place from Freecycle, which is sort of like eBay, but free. Two stuffed monkeys grace one side of the mantle. On the other side a Bin Laden puppet battles it out with a Bush puppet. Both are suspended from the hip bone of some large animal. The chairs are like soggy buns that squish to the floor when I sit on them. I can't tell if I'm sitting or lying. In the bathroom I notice a spot on the wall. It looks like a giant prehistoric tapeworm. But is it real or a toy? I touch it with a
Decaying eleganceDecaying eleganceDecaying elegance

Ascending the stairs to Ralphs living room.
stick and it recoils.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

RiverrunRiverrun
Riverrun

... from swerve of shore to bend of bay. Dublin's River Liffey .
Stately and plump Stately and plump
Stately and plump

Me ascending to the top of Martello tower, where the opening scene of [i]Ulysses[/i] takes place.
Angel of HarlemAngel of Harlem
Angel of Harlem

Found this angel while walking the streets of Dublin.
The prick with a stickThe prick with a stick
The prick with a stick

Are Dubliners proud that Joyce immortalized Dublin or resentful that he chose not to live here? The fact that they have a statue of him affectionate referred to as the "prick with the stick" seems to underscore the paradox.
Sorry to miss thisSorry to miss this
Sorry to miss this

Poster for music festival in Titisee, a tiny town in Germany's Black Forest.
Black Forest 2Black Forest 2
Black Forest 2

Sign post in the Black Forest
Black Forest 1Black Forest 1
Black Forest 1

My path in the Black Forest


6th August 2008

You look stately but not plump at the Martello Tower.
7th August 2008

lucky bast...
hey jon, long time without news from me!! im alive!!! i see you continue with your single life style!! im jealous!! i wish i could travel like you hope everything is ok you could come to catalunya at some point, i would take you to good places and pubs too. take care jordi
12th August 2008

Jordi!
It would be fun to see you and your friends again. I have a tentative plan to return to Catalunya this winter!
12th August 2008

i'll be here for sure, no plans going anywhere!!! ps: take laura with you...hehe

Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 18; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb