Go North Young Woman - so Belfast it is


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Molly MaloneMolly MaloneMolly Malone

famous because of a song
I've decided to spend most of the day in Dublin, as the sun is shining (at least temporarily), and I can see a few more sights, and maybe get some photos taken.

I get myself packed, and then decide on a hot breakfast (haven't had much to eat for the last few days, so a bit peckish). the €9.50 for Irish breaky is sounding like the solution. Discovered a whole new section of the hotel. My room is 100' from the train line. I don't think this side is anywhere near that. The breakfast was quite good, lots to choose from, and it's hot. Something interesting in the mix. Black & White Pudding. They look like flattened muffins. Some dark, some light in colour. I know better than to put things in my mouth, without first asking where it's been. Turns out these little darlings are made from blood. Pass.

I am on a mission today. Want to see a Georgian house, see St. Stephens, and get the photos I've missed these last few days. I head into a not so desirable area. Even makes me a bit squeamish. But I do come out in a nice area,
Dublin - North Star HotelDublin - North Star HotelDublin - North Star Hotel

100' outside my window.
where I spend an hour trying to find this Georgian house in the Fitwilliam Sq. No one knows anything about it, no signs anywhere, and I finally give up. This is exactly what I've been talking about. I am even asked by at least 3 other people for directions (honestly I must just look safe or something).

St. Stephens is very pretty, and many people take advantage. The funniest thing was the sign painted on the ground near one of the entrances "Mind the Craps". There are hundreds of pigeons, and they want you to be aware before you step out to check out the fountain (or was it a statue - can't remember now, the sign was so funny I forgot to check out the reason I was there!).

The sun was very short lived. Short bursts of rain for the rest of the day. So try to take photos in between. I wandered back through Grafton Street to do some window shopping. Then as you come out, there is a statue of Molly Malone (song...) with an elderly gentleman singing the tune (he has his getto blaster chained to the statue).

Just a bit further
St. Stephens sidewalk signSt. Stephens sidewalk signSt. Stephens sidewalk sign

Mind the Craps - don't remember what the statue was.
down the road is Trinity College. This is still in the heart of downtown. Decide I have to make a stop and check out the Book of Kells €8. The display is ok, and they have some sections of the book on display, along with a couple of other books from around that same age. The artistry of the book is impressive, and can't believe how neatly they printed each and every page. The last area you see before you leave is the library which houses most of the national Irish literary treasures. Now this was impressive. 2 stories of books, with ladders on rolling systems to get to them all. Did you know that Bram Stoker (Dracula author) went to school here?

Not much else to see or do now, that won't take up a lot of time. So head back to the hotel for my bags. The bus station is not even a block away, so off we go. I'm in time for the 4:00 bus to Belfast, at a whopping €8 (much better than the €38 for the train, and only half hour longer). Unfortunately, I'm leaving with about €20, and heading back into £ land.
Grafton StreetGrafton StreetGrafton Street

Busy like this all the time, and this is only a portion of it.
We pass along beautiful countryside (reminds me very much of BC - green rolling hills), with lots and lots of sheep, some horses and cows, and some of the cutest donkeys, with the biggest manes you've ever seen.

We come up on a shopping centre called Sprucefield, which is on the perimeter of Belfast, and you would swear you were back in North America. A large shopping centre, with lots of parking, complete with a McDonald's (and drive thru).

The driver announces we will be arriving in Belfast shortly. What?!? We haven't gone through any border crossing. It was quite the ordeal when I arrived into Dublin (which is the Republic of Ireland), and we've been in Northern Ireland for a while now (they are part of the UK). Oh well, no more stamps for my passport.

I get off the bus, find the main exit, and as I look down the street wondering where my hotel might be, I have this delirious moment, when I realize that my hotel is right next door to the station. No way! I can't be this lucky. Maybe that bird poop is working (it better be as I can't wear
Temple BarTemple BarTemple Bar

They must all be in the bars already
that sweater till the next laundry day)! As I walk in the front doors, there are dozens of people in black tie attire, mingling in this very expansive, luxurious lobby area. This can't be my hotel? I double check my print out. Europa, Greater Victoria St, 4 star. Yep, this is the place. Maybe they have a poor relative down the street? I walk up to the desk, just like I own the place, and confidently hand over my registration. The fellow just smiles, pulls out a key card, and asks me to sign in. Oh my god, I am in the right place!

Not so fast though. I can't get in my room, as the card or lock doesn't work. Go back to reception 3x, when they finally send someone up with me. Starting to think they are going to realize I'm a faker (really only a 3 starrer normally). He gets me in, and as he departs, I quickly slam the door, just in case. When I turn around, I just about pass out! The sheer luxury - a double bed, a large flat screen tv, a divine (tiny) bathroom, with a glass door and shower. I
OConnell StreetOConnell StreetOConnell Street

River Liffey behind me,looking towards the spire (I just need to find that so I can find my way back to the hotel). Daniel O'Connell Statue in the front (19th century nationalist leader)
do a belly flop onto the bed, and sink into the down filled comforter. I'm never leaving here!

Finally, after lounging for a very long time, my tummy tells me it's time to head out. I had received a What's On booklet for Belfast, and apparently there is an East Indian restaurant down the street. It's called the Gingerroot, and was very good, and very reasonable. The owner loves it when you show an interest, and tells you what all the names of the food mean. This truly is heaven!

After dinner, I have to roll myself out, and decide to wander the streets. I've noticed that it doesn't get dark till quite late in the evening, both here and in the UK. My hotel is perfectly located, as it's at the top of the main drag. I walk down the street, down a couple of more, and am decidely creeped out. There isn't a sole around. The only people you see are having a smoke outside of the numerous pubs or bars. Otherwise no one. You can't window shop, as there are metal barricades pulled down in front of each store. Where am I again?

Decide
Temple Bar FavouriteTemple Bar FavouriteTemple Bar Favourite

Oliver St. John Gogarty's - last nights teeth episode
I should call it a night, so head back to the hotel. I ask the Concierge if there is an area of town that I could go people watch at this time of night. He just quietly said that the police really didn't want people just hanging around. Right - how could I have forgotten already.

Off to bed I go. I'm exhausted, and this bed is awesome! Going to get me some wonderful shut eye tonight!

HAHA! You thought that was the end of my day didn't you? 2:30 am, I'm woken up to some nasty alarm. I slam my alarm clock. Nope doesn't stop it. TV is off. Telephone isn't ringing. Then through the fog in my brain - it's the fire alarm. I'm really not a good morning person, which means any time I wake up. This alarm isn't stopping, and my room is really hot. Thank god I'm in pj's. I have the semblance of mind to grab my purse, which has my passport, slip my runners on, and grab my pair of jeans and bra, just in case.

In the hall I meet another crew of folks, in the same state. We all clamber into the elevator (ok - I know, the signs all say take the stairs, but I told you I'm not a good morning person and apparently neither was anyone else in my group!), and into the lobby we all exit. There is the black tie group again, and quite a few of us in our pj's. Feeling a bit underdressed, we head out to the street, and just as we are looking for someone in the know, the fellow from reception comes up to us, and says, "it's ok folks. You can all go back to your rooms. Someone was smoking in a non-smoking room." All I can think of is, when I find the bugger, I'm going to stub that cigarette right in his eye!

Well, the alarm continued for another 35 minutes. A very high shrieking noise. Think I did finally fall asleep at 4. Welcome to Dublin!

Advertisement



24th May 2007

This is not Belfast
Good story but it is confusing that you have the headline thread in Northern Ireland, Belfast but you are telling us about Dublin. I suggest have it posted under Republic of Ireland, Dublin. Rey
24th May 2007

Thanks for the input
Good point. It made sense at the time, for me to post where I ended my day off. But I've changed it to Dublin, as the Belfast portion is pretty small. Thanks

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb