From London, UK to Dublin, Ireland - SAT, 30 JUL 2022


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 30th 2022
Published: August 3rd 2022
Edit Blog Post

I noted earlier that the folks from my tour of Ireland (Overland Ireland) suggested I move my tour one tour later in the year to avoid the havoc (crowded restaurants, etc.) brought about by The Galway Races Summer Festival. I agreed, but my return to London from the Wales tour “late in the day” on Friday and a 0830 departure on Sunday for the Ireland tour gave me only Saturday to move my base of operations. Fortunately, I will have two days to explore Dublin after the conclusion of the tour of Ireland. That early Sunday appointment got me up and going on Saturday to have breakfast, stock my small suitcase with clean laundry (from the big suitcase that had been in storge), stow the big suitcase AGAIN and get to London Heathrow to catch the 1:25 PM flight from London to Dublin.

I finally hailed an UNOCCUPIED taxi (there are lots more taxis on the streets on a weekday than a weekend). We made a quick stop at the luggage storage facility and then to London Heathrow where I made my way to the Aer Lingus terminal, passed through the airline requisites and learned from the departure board that the flight was delayed. Indeed, there wasn’t even a boarding gate designated on the departure board. I made my way in the direction of the gates that were being utilized by Aer Lingus, expecting the gate my flight would use would be in the same zip code. That plan worked well as the gate posting immediately included, “Now Boarding.” The flight was uneventful, and the only question from the immigration officer was about my reason for visiting Ireland. When I told her a ten-day tour of Ireland, she let me pass without any further questioning. Getting a taxi at the airport in Dublin was much easier than the hotel in London as one would expect.

The Morgan Hotel is pretty high-class for a small-town country bumpkin, but it is close to the meeting point, “Opposite Abigail's Hostel.” I made a wet run (okay, a dry run in the rain) and found it quite easily. I have never been in a Hard Rock Café in my life; however, since it has been in business for 40 or so years and since the Dublin edition was right next door to the hotel, I decide to pop the cherry in Dublin. I had a blackened chicken pasta that was quite tasty and then chatted with a man from the bay area of northern California while we watched some young women celebrate an Irish version of a bachelorette party. It was a very nice first evening in Ireland. – Overnight - The Morgan Hotel, Dublin, Ireland

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb