Waterfalls and Magic Road - are there little people around here i.e. leprechauns or fairies


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal » Letterkenny
June 6th 2023
Published: June 7th 2023
Edit Blog Post

So we set off mid morning after filling up with water as we had to ditch it yesterday to get the MH round the hairpin bend - if you have not read yesterday’s blog you need to as at one stage I did not think we would be going any further. Our intent was to spend the night at Fanad Head, well we did not quite make that but we were okay as we found a nice campsite in Port Salon - a few miles from Fanad Head and so I can have a shower in the morning. We start off stopping at Glenevin Waterfall which was a nice break then went to Dunaff Head which was once again amazing - the views are fantastic although the roads? well some of them would be tight in a car let alone a Motorhome! You can imagine the words that were coming out of my mouth and they were not only “You are going to kill me and I am too young to die - plus I don’t want to die in a Motorhome!!! (dramatic or what, never change, ha ha). So once again I am map reading with a map that does not have road numbers and one that has road numbers but shows different roads - so I am juggling quite a bit here. So I get us lost again but this time I see a gentleman painting his fence outside the front of his house so decide let’s stop on a single track road and ask him how do I get to Buncrana. Well in a lovely Irish accent he says where are you from - I am thinking what does that matter but then think he is being really friendly so say North of Manchester and he says no where have you come from today - feel like a dip stick or what. So of course we were going the wrong way so he says turn around and I will tell your fella how to get there it is easy you know. So I say it might be easy but is it narrow and he says no no busses go over the big hill and it is beautiful scenery and takes around 15 minutes or I can tell you another way which is not scenic and it will take you around 45 minutes. So we turn around and go back to him painting his fence and he tells Mike well you see that big hill well lad you will be going over that - so we both look at each other and Mike confirms a motorhome will go over it - of course lad coaches go over it but it does have some steep parts but the scenery is amazing lad. We follow his instructions and OMG yes OMG it was steep and we found the magic road which is called “Gravity Hill” but is actually an optical illusion where the layout of the landscape makes it look like the slope is going one way, but in fact its going the other!!! So your eyes, rather than the fairies, are playing tricks on you. Around the world, magic roads are known as 'gravity hills' or 'magnetic hills', and there are hundreds of them. I only found this out by watching you tube videos of a lady called Kat at Wandering Bird. Now she let the handbreak off of her motorhome and her motorhome actually rolled up the hil!!. Now let me tell you that was NOT going to happen as I was petrified of how high we were, I am sure I could have had to duck if an aeroplane went over. I did open my eyes once or twice for a couple of seconds and the views were stunning but then had to close them and keep saying to myself “I am not going to die, I am not going to die”.



Mike says when we get down were you okay then - well a few choice words came out and they were not yes darling that was amazing and the views were lovely!!! Anyway I get us back on track and we get to Letterkenny where I had found there was a tourist information place - now I can get a real map with all the road numbers on. Well not quite as I now have lots of maps but once again they have no road numbers - do you know what hey ho I now have a map for each region, 2 atlas maps and a collins map - if I cannot navigate this then I need to give up.



The lady in the tourist information though was most helpful and told us about this place called Port Salon and a lovely campsite which is just stunning - once again the views are totally amazing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb