Welcome to Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
September 19th 2014
Published: September 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Ireland!!! I woke up this morning to drizzle and rain and indeed it has rained the entire day. I drove from Wexford to Cork today. The mist/fog has been thick and so I didn't get to see much of the scenery on the drive here. I did briefly stop in the little sea-side town of Younegal. I couldn't find a restaurant, so I had lunch in a bakery. The scones were the best I have tasted so far. Very yummy!

So it has been very easy to maintain my vegetarian diet while traveling here. I only once ate a piece of bacon and a sausage at my Welsh stay, just to see what it was like as they have their own butcher who makes sausages for them. So I thought what the heck and gave it a try. Not bad, but don't think I'll make it a practice.

I made it to Cork early and I'm going to lay down for a nap. For some reason I didn't sleep very well last night and I'm bushed. I want to make it to an Irish pub here in downtown Cork. I know I'm pushing the safety net a bit, going out in a strange city at night alone, but I really want to hear some Irish music. I can make myself pretty inconspicuous if I want to, so hey, I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

I haven't figured out where I am going tomorrow...but it will be inland, and I don't think I'll make a reservation ahead of time. Really pushing the envelope......

Blessings to the Irish....the friendliest people so far.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb