Choral Society and Craic!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 5th 2010
Published: January 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello loyal followers!

Today began in a less than glamorous fashion, with a deadly boring class on Early Celtic Lyric Poetry. Won't be registering for that one. I think I'll end up with three electives and three major-requirement and/or gen ed credits. One does need elective credits to graduate, after all.

At any rate, following the boring class, I had an AWFUL lunch at the campus main restaurant (I'll be brown-bagging it from now on, believe me), then was struck with incapacitating homesickness.

Luckily, my Feminist Philosophy class was really engaging, and the professor very nice. Then, even better, as I was lazing around in my pajamas, I finally got a chance to check the UCC Choral Society website. It turns out they meet at 7pm on Tuesdays. I threw on some jeans and I was THERE! We are singing an arrangement of "Over the Rainbow" and "Somebody To Love" by Queen for a campus LGBT event in two weeks, and planning a weekend away in either Killarney or Kilkenny (spelling? I guess I'll learn!), and maybe going to a contest in Italy in April. There's also the Strauss Ball to look forward to (thanks dad, for that cocktail dress; it folded up small and will look good with fancy jewelry). The people were very friendly, and we went to the new bar on campus after rehearsal. I bought my first legal alcohol (half a pint of Murphy's stout, in case you were wondering) and learned some Irish slang in exchange for some American slang.

So what started as a really awful day has turned into a day full of deadly craic.

Tomorrow, I open my bank account!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb