Weekend in Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I came to Ireland to visit Tanya. We had a lot of fun. Here are some highlights.

The first night we went out to a pub (i forget what it was called...) and then on the way back we decided to go to this fast food resturant called Hillbillies. They serve fried chicken there, and I need to point out that I don't think that either Tanya or I enjoy fried chicken. haha. But we ate like savages in that resturant. There were four of us (Tanya and I and her two flatmates Kathryn and Gina) and we ordered a family bucket. There was a lot of food. It could probably feed like eight people, but we ate it all. We were burning our fingers on the chicken it was so hot, and we didn't even care. We were standing in the window eating it, and people were looking in at us like we were in a zoo. It was only slightly embarassing though. hahahah.

The next day we woke up relatively early and went to this really cute little town called Kinsale on the coast of Ireland. It was a beautiful day out. The sun was shining, which apparently is rare in Ireland, so that was nice. The town was really cute, and we walked up to this fort called Fort Charles, where Tanya's friend, Anne fell down a slope of grass and got her butt all muddy. It was sad, because she had to walk around the rest of the day with a muddy butt, but she laughed it off pretty well. The fort was pretty cool. Lots of birds though. Oh dear. And the entire walk up there was uphill, so we got a good gluet workout. haha. We also found a resturant called the Spainiard. We took a picture by it because it reminded us of Rachel and Natalie. 😊 Then we got lunch at this nice little resturant called Muddy Mahers and our waiter was so nice. There wasn't much else open there, because it is the off season (i think...?) so we went back to Cork.

That night was a lot of fun. We went to this club called G2. there was a light up dance floor. Needless to say, we had a good time. haha. I don't actually remember most of this night, so maybe Tanya can fill in the gaps....MAYBE though. Oh dear. All I remember is the light up dance floor and cute Irish boys!

The next day was recovery from our insane night. Tanya and I walked around town and she showed me her campus, which is sooooo pretty. A lot prettier than Queen Mary's. haha. Well, Queen Mary's is pretty nice for being in the middle of the ghetto. hahahah. We got things to make cookies, and failed. So we just ended up eating the cookie dough. We got chinese food for dinner because I had been craving it. It didn't hold a candle to village wok, but it satisified my need for a while. We watched "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" then too.

Then on monday Tanya and I just walked around the city for a bit. We tried to get into St. Fin Barres Cathedral, but we could not for the life of us figure out how to get in. It was really frustrating. Then I headed to the airport and I have been here ever since. For about 19 hours now. It's a lot of fun. haha. I did finally get some sleep this morning, but it was a rough night. I think the snow has finally stopped in London, but now it's snowing like crazy here. They haven't cancelled any outgoing flights yet though. I am off the hook at school though, because all classes are cancelled too. Aparently London doesn't know how to deal with snow, like us Minnesotans. haha. I got a paper this morning, and it's amazing to see the pictures. I guess we got like a half a foot of snow in London, possibly more! It's the biggest snowfall since like 1991 or something. CRAZY! So now I am just hanging around the airport. I think they think that I am a bum or something. haha. I talked to a really nice cop last night though. He told me it was ok, to sleep on the chairs in the entrance to the airport! So I did! haha. I must have been quite the sight, because I was curled up in a very odd position, but I could not get comfortable for the life of me.

I am sorry I always write so much! You all know me, I love to write and read and such. And I would love to read what you are all doing, so pleaaaaaase write on this! haha. Ok I won't continue any longer and bore you all to death!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb