Time Flies When You're Having Fun!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

To be honest, it’s been so long since I updated that I don’t even know what to write (I bought a Journal though so this won’t happen anymore!)! So the Monday after we got back from Dublin, I had a little “date” at the cinema to see Role Models. It was pretty funny, but not as good as I expected. Tuesday we didn’t do anything since we were still recouping from Dublin.

Wednesday night we went out with the intention of participating in “Band-a-oke” aka Karaoke in front of a LIVE band! However, we got there too late and had too large of a group for the bouncers to “let it slide” that we were under 21 (some of the pubs are 21 and over to keep out the college drunks). I basically told the bouncer he was stupid cause we would clearly be spending money and then we headed over to The Wash. It was fine though because there was no Band-a-oke anyways. After The Wash we went to The Bailey and met a cross-dresser! That was pretty exciting but it was already so late so we only got to rock out to Bon Jovi and Journey before “last call”. Half of the group decided to head back since they were tired and Brianne, Kristina, and I decided to keep on truckin’. We headed to An Brog, met some jerks, left and got Hillbilly’s…SO GOOD. On the walk back to the apartments we sang various songs and probably woke up all of Cork, but it was good craic 😉

Thursday night we were supposed to go out, but decided to be bums instead 😊 We had to get Kristina all beautiful for the Science Ball anyways 😉 She looked gorgeous (obviously) and ended up having a grand time!

Friday we had physics lab…ugh…and it was raining so that was no fun to walk to and from lab. Friday night we decided (well, I decided) to watch all 9 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy Season 1 and we watched “Because I Said So” before that. Brianne and I are convinced that the “rocker” hottie is Johnny Depp’s little brother haha.

Saturday we were a bit more productive and wandered around Cork. I got a SWEET pair of suede black boots for only 25 euro and they are super cute and comfy. Now I can finally shut up about wanted boots 😊 We checked out some of the department stores and saw some Top Shop stuff (You’re right Allison, their stuff it super cute!). We checked out a GORGEOUS Cathedral that we always see in the distance when we are downtown. It’s called “St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral”. Although it is the “Church of Ireland” aka Protestant (I’m Catholic)…the architecture was amazing and, unfortunately, it was locked so we couldn’t check out the inside. They had various saints carved into the cathedral’s walls and basically everything that was carved into the church had a purpose, which I thought was really interesting (I’ll post pictures, promise!). I know that’s with every church, but no one ever told me what everything meant, but outside of St. Fin Barre’s there was a “Key” to explain what everything meant.

Saturday night we attempted to take the bus but, guess what, it NEVER showed up; typical Irish always being late. We walked part of the way, and then took a cab since it was raining. It was already too late to go to most pubs to we were at An Brog all night. Unfortunately, we met a bunch of jerks and left because of it. Some of our friends met up with us and we headed to Four Star Pizza (Domino’s competition over here) and while we were waiting for our pizza, some stupid Irish Drunk proceeded to tell ME that because I’m American, that I’m the one bombing Palestine. Seriously?! Brianne is usually the one who gets into arguments but that pissed me off. Then some guy thought I was “sooo Gargeous” and smacked my butt on the way out?! Ooooh if I knew who it was, he would’ve been dead. But, hey, there are immature pricks everywhere, right? (Excuse my language) That kinda ruined my night but, whatever, every night can’t be grand now can it?

Sunday was another lazy day. I slept most of the day, almost ruined my grilled cheese, and then watched the superbowl until like 4am. I thought the Steelers played way dirty and didn’t deserve it, but the Cardinals didn’t exactly give it their all either. Oh well. Still doesn’t tops last year’s superbowl (Yaaay Giants!)!

Today was an extremely unproductive day. My sleep cycle has been messed up lately because I’m staying up late to chat with friends and family so then I sleep all day and waste time 😞 For example, I was up until 5:30am talking to Kate and Alyssa last night (which I loved, by the way..miss you girlies<3) but I thought it was funny that they were saying they were tired for bed when I was waaay past my bed time haha : And now I’m just updating stuff and waiting to plan my London trip this weekend once the girls get back from class! Oh and we decided to go to Belfast (in Northern Ireland) the weekend of February 19th (2 months ‘til my bday!) and Glasgow, Scotland March 5th (My mommy’s bday and britt’s bday!) 😊 Should be loooooads of craic! Lots of love<3



Advertisement



24th March 2009

The oval is across the road from the beamish brewery.
4th April 2009

Oval
Thanks! I'll be sure to check it out :)

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb