Sick as a...STRAY Dog?!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am sooooooooo sick! Ugh. I say “as a stray dog” because there are so many roaming the streets of Ireland! Apparently Irish dog owners do not like neutering their pups? Therefore, lots of dogs with no homes 😞 They might put in a law soon that you MUST neuter your dog. I want to take all of them in cause it’s so sad!

Anyway, I have whatever Irish virus is going around right now. I mean, it was inevitable considering I was out late, adjusting to the time difference, and being exposed to every single person in every one of my classes coughing? Yuck. But now I’m one of them. I couldn’t sleep Monday night because I was coughing waaay too much. It was awful but now I’m just super congested so when I eat I have to pause, stop eating, and breathe through my mouth so I don’t feel like I’m suffocating. I know you wanted to know all of that detail 😊

Time for my update! So Monday I wasn’t productive really haha. I uploaded pictures and stuff I guess and then went to my Traditional Music class at 5pm. We learned about the Uilleann Pipes which are basically indoor bagpipes that you kinda play with your elbow? Crazy! Google it. I also attempted to update my Flickr. There are pictures, just no explanations so I need to get on that!

Tuesday was pretty exciting since it was the Inauguration of good ol’ Barack! They had a viewing of it at the College Bar but I just hung out with my roomie and watched it with her friend who LOVES America. She actually celebrated the Inauguration that night and was planning on doing red, white, and blue shots! Turned out the bartender didn’t understand her and she just downed some Tequila but, hey, Mexico is pretty close to the U.S., right? She also told me the next morning how she sand the “Star-Spangled Banner” and “This Land is Your Land” while standing on a bench at the pub (She is IRISH, by the way). Don’t you just love her already? So after the inauguration, which was on around 4:30pm over here, we went to history class, which was INCREDIBLY boring. He started off discussing how Barack is part Irish and how this person is part Irish, and that famous person is part Irish..and that was basically the classs. GRAND! So Brianne and I just entertained ourselves and took notes on the important stuff 😊 After class I had a little “date” at the pool hall with an Irish fellow. He bet me 5 euro I wouldn’t beat him and..guess who won? I DID! 😊 All that practice on Christina’s table paid off (Thanks, Twin!)! It was a fun night, but very cold with too much walking. I think it kinda “did me in” with my illness. I took some “Codinex” cough syrup that night and then developed a stuffy nose. I mean it’s nice to not be coughing all the time now, but I enjoy breathing through my nose, yanno?

Anyway, so Wednesday I took a nap after Physics, which was absolutely lovely, and then we attempted to immigrate into the country again. However, there was a huge line and the lady told us she wouldn’t get to us before they closed so we left. What a waste of a walk! We then decided to wander, walk through this open market they have with fresh fish, meat, fruit, desserts…it was awesome! I got a mango cause they just looked so good! We then went to “Eddie Rocket’s” a.k.a. “Johnny Rocket’s” and got some milkshakes. It wasn’t comparable to Hoffman’s, but it hit the spot. After that we had out Physic’s tutorial in which the tutor just did the problems for us, again (AWESOME!) and then we made PIZZA with the dough we bought in the market. It was really yummy, with the Irish soda bread Brianne bought (I’m not a HUGE fan, but it also was a bit dry), but I was super tired so I just went up to my room and went to bed by 11pm. Yes, 11:00pm. I don’t think I’ve gone to bed that early in YEARS!

Today, Thursday, we had Physics at 9am. Ugh. I just want to sleep all day but I got up anyway to be bored to death. Despite the struggle to get out of bed, when I returned from class, the carepackage that my mommy sent me was here! Yaaay! 2 sweatshirts, 2 boxes of my fave cereal, 2 boxes of EASY MAC, 2 boxes of special k chocolate peanut butter protein bars, handwarmers, and Hershey kisses! HOORAAAAY! I was so so so excited to get all of those goodies…plus some essentials I needed for my computer, etc. YAY HOME! Now I’m just doing laundry and getting ready to go to Dublin tonight!!!! Our bus leaves at 6pm so we’ll get there around 10:15pm. Our hostel is right down the street from the bus station and my Irish roommates even said it was a good one. For 3 nights it totaled out to be 38 Euro per person. Not too shabby. Hopefully for St. Patty’s Day the prices won’t sky-rocket too much!

Well, I better get ready and finish up my laundry. Maybe I’ll take a nap even though I can sleep on the bus for 4 hours? Sounds good to me! Miss you all…send me “get well” wishes, please! I need them 😞 XXX (they don’t put o’s here)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb