Where did you come from with your pants?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Kilrush
June 18th 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kilrush Public Library
Kilrush, Ireland
Thursday, June 18, 2009

That's how I was greeted by one of the customers at the Kilrush Farmer's Market today: "Where did you come from with your pants?" Um, the same place I came from with the rest of me...Texas. Which is something I try not to get into too much, as people are really quite opinionated about the ways of America. And I really don't like to get into it, especially the bits about W. Anyway, today is another farmer's market, and I'm taking a break. I was pointed here by the tourist office to find WiFi, but apparently they don't have it here. C'est la vie...

I must tell you, faithful reader, that I'm kind of sore today. Not having a weekend and going straight thru with the work has been very tiring on the body. I'm starting to feel it more lately, and am looking forward to some time off this weekend. Oh sure, there will be things to do on Saturday morning, as the party on Saturday doesn't get going until 4:00 or so, and there's always a chicken to feed on Sunday, but for the most part it should
The great village of KilrushThe great village of KilrushThe great village of Kilrush

Kilrush town council sponsored this poster, I suppose
be fairly easygoing. I'm curious about the parties this weekend, particularly this Solstice party on Sunday. 40+ people are coming, and I've been volunteered to do a stint on the grill. Burgers and kebabs are the order of the day, and I think I can handle that.

Decided to stay here until Tuesday, the 23rd. Seems to be a nice day, as Hilary will be able to just cart me in to town when she heads in for her volunteer shift at the Oxfam bookstore. That gives me 6 days to get to Galway & Dublin. Kind of short, I know, but the ticket from Dublin -> Amsterdam is already purchased. Not sure how I'll divide up the time, probably 3 & 3.

Farm work is very repetitive. Sure, there's always something to do, but at this time of year it's a lot of the same things over again. Yesterday I spent almost all morning preparing an asparagus bed, then worked with Chris to load the van for market and did some repotting work. Hilary & Chris both tell me that they're very pleased with me (as they must be, otherwise they'd drive me in to Ennis ASAP
Dolphins in Ireland?Dolphins in Ireland?Dolphins in Ireland?

Yeah, Dolphins often come up the Shannon river to Kilrush. There are many dolphin-watching expeditions from there.
and drop me off at the station), and that feels good. However, one thing I've noticed is that I'm getting somewhat lonely here. It's very quiet with just 2 other people to talk to. I know the place in Antwerp is going to be more populated, so I am hoping to get more conversation in there. But being here, it's very quiet and lonely. I've been reading loads, as Hilary has put together an impressive library in the sitting room. Thusfar I've read 5 books, and am almost halfway through my sixth. The dogs don't have much to say, the cats basically ignore me and the chickens are retarded. Seriously, chickens have to be pretty idiotic creatures. However, they serve a purpose on the farm. One of the great quotes from Chris this past week was "I'm enjoying him more now than I ever did when he was alive" in reference to the Son of Blackie, one of the cockrels slaughtered last weekend.

I'm still enjoying the market work, it gives me a chance to be more social. And speaking of which, I suppose I'll get back to it. On with the show!

Lessons Learned:
Market vendors can bicker like clique girls. One guy was complaining about the "feckin' fishman encroachin on me space." I wonder if he ever asked the fishman to move?
Lots of young single moms in the towns here. Some very young. Guess Irish young'uns turn to the same distractions as bored American young'uns


Advertisement



23rd June 2009

my pants my pants
What books you been readin'? Me sad to hear there's not a lot of peeps around to converse with. I hope your next farm is more heavily populated.
24th June 2009

The two word cure for loneliness
Ham Radio P.S. I hope you were representin' with your dope Texan pants

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb